SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > OnLine Fabric Search Tip

Viewed 5207 times
Posted by: Liana
photo

 
 
About Liana starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/31/04 2:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have found that if I want to find a type of fabric for sale on line, if I just type, for example, silk organza fabric into Google, and then use Search Images, rather than just Search or Search Web, I get the results I want. Since most fabric sellers have a photo of the fabric, I tend to find what I want, and not get all the unusable results.

I imagine this would work well for anything that would have a photo of it in an online sale format. I have found some interesting sources that I would never otherwise have come across.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
candyo said...
Wow, what I fabulous idea!
8/30/04 8:32 PM
Diane Tucker said...
Hurray, this is a wonderful tip. I had to click on 'Options' on Google help bar to access the 'search image ' button
8/30/04 8:10 PM
Tillie Gray said...
this imformation is really valuable to get to the meat of searching thanks
7/12/04 2:06 AM
garmaaa said...
Great Tip!
6/9/04 2:07 PM
Barbara Norwood said...
Thank you! I followed your tip and just found some fabric that I had seen made up, but wanted yardage of... I've been looking for months now!
6/9/04 12:17 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I didn't know that either!
4/2/04 10:47 AM
Deepika said...
yup, or you can search in images.google.com :)
4/1/04 9:55 AM
Kathryn said...
Liana, you are not just another pretty face! There's a lot of intelligence behind it, for sure! Thanks for the great tip.
4/1/04 7:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You get the gold star today for this tip. I love Google but never used Search Images. This has got to be a great time saver. Thanks for sharing this with the group.
4/1/04 5:57 AM
Mary Reed said...
I too had no idea you could cull the google info this way. Thank you for this tip.
3/31/04 10:15 PM
Dot said...
Wow! I had no idea you could do this. Something else for me to play with. Thanks!
3/31/04 7:28 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I currently have the Google toolbar permanently installed on my desktop (alon with their pop-up blocker). I love it, and here is yet another use!
3/31/04 6:26 PM
Mandolin82 said...
great tip!
3/31/04 6:25 PM
Stitchology said...
I have found that if you add "yard" and "$" to your terms you will get fabric sites and eliminate most of the items ready made with that fabric.
3/31/04 2:47 PM
ChrisK said...
Thanks, I will give that a try. It will save hours of surfing trying to find something I want and leave me more time to enjoy Patternreview.com!
3/31/04 1:25 PM
Ann C said...
Thanks, I didn't know you could search only images.
3/31/04 8:10 AM
kathi s said...
Thank you!! What a time saver!
3/31/04 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.