SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > OnLine Fabric Search Tip

Viewed 5252 times
Posted by: Liana
photo

 
 
About Liana starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/31/04 2:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have found that if I want to find a type of fabric for sale on line, if I just type, for example, silk organza fabric into Google, and then use Search Images, rather than just Search or Search Web, I get the results I want. Since most fabric sellers have a photo of the fabric, I tend to find what I want, and not get all the unusable results.

I imagine this would work well for anything that would have a photo of it in an online sale format. I have found some interesting sources that I would never otherwise have come across.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
candyo said...
Wow, what I fabulous idea!
8/30/04 8:32 PM
Diane Tucker said...
Hurray, this is a wonderful tip. I had to click on 'Options' on Google help bar to access the 'search image ' button
8/30/04 8:10 PM
Tillie Gray said...
this imformation is really valuable to get to the meat of searching thanks
7/12/04 2:06 AM
garmaaa said...
Great Tip!
6/9/04 2:07 PM
Barbara Norwood said...
Thank you! I followed your tip and just found some fabric that I had seen made up, but wanted yardage of... I've been looking for months now!
6/9/04 12:17 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I didn't know that either!
4/2/04 10:47 AM
Deepika said...
yup, or you can search in images.google.com :)
4/1/04 9:55 AM
Kathryn said...
Liana, you are not just another pretty face! There's a lot of intelligence behind it, for sure! Thanks for the great tip.
4/1/04 7:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You get the gold star today for this tip. I love Google but never used Search Images. This has got to be a great time saver. Thanks for sharing this with the group.
4/1/04 5:57 AM
Mary Reed said...
I too had no idea you could cull the google info this way. Thank you for this tip.
3/31/04 10:15 PM
Dot said...
Wow! I had no idea you could do this. Something else for me to play with. Thanks!
3/31/04 7:28 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I currently have the Google toolbar permanently installed on my desktop (alon with their pop-up blocker). I love it, and here is yet another use!
3/31/04 6:26 PM
Mandolin82 said...
great tip!
3/31/04 6:25 PM
Stitchology said...
I have found that if you add "yard" and "$" to your terms you will get fabric sites and eliminate most of the items ready made with that fabric.
3/31/04 2:47 PM
ChrisK said...
Thanks, I will give that a try. It will save hours of surfing trying to find something I want and leave me more time to enjoy Patternreview.com!
3/31/04 1:25 PM
Ann C said...
Thanks, I didn't know you could search only images.
3/31/04 8:10 AM
kathi s said...
Thank you!! What a time saver!
3/31/04 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.