SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Stay Stitching

Viewed 5196 times
Posted by: Kimm
photo

 
 
About Kimm
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/2/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/04 8:16 PM
Review Rating: Off-topic by 2 people   
Hi folks, I'm new to this game. Haven't sewing anything bar curtains since I left school (22 years ago)! I'm making a shirt for my line dancing competition (Simplicity 9877) and in reading instructions it says to stay stitch around the neck line.

Can anyone out there tell how I do this please? I'd really appreciate your help as I've 2 wks to make this shirt!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
Try putting this on the message board under Techniques and Tips. This section is to offer info, not seek it. People who want to learn about this will look here, and those who already know may not check it out.
4/4/04 8:51 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Stay stitching is done to prevent the fabric from stretching out of shape. Normally this on the neckline [shirts and tops] and waistline [for pants and skirts]. It is a regular straight stitch on your machine, done just inside the sewing line [if the seam allowance is 5/8", the stay stitching is done at 1/2"], on a single layer of fabric. Be sure to just guide the fabric in front of the needle, so it doesn't stretch. You may need to pull slightly on the fabric behind the needle, so it doesn't pucker.
4/5/04 1:47 AM
Kimm said...
Thank you "SewVeryTall". It makes sense to me now!
4/5/04 2:41 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Kimm, you're welcome! I'm glad I could help. I couldn't find the "message board tips and techniques", and so I figured you might be having the same problem.
4/6/04 12:28 PM
julienna said...
hi .. the message board you are looking for is under the main topic General Sewing Talk -- subtopic, Sewing Techniques and Tips. Hope this helps.... :)
4/9/04 5:09 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Julienna!
4/9/04 3:46 PM
Winifred said...
This is a question isn't it? Should be in a different section?
6/1/06 6:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.