Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Stay Stitching (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5092 times
Review rated Off-topic by 2 people   
Posted by: Kimm
photo
About Kimm
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/2/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/04 8:16 PM
Hi folks, I'm new to this game. Haven't sewing anything bar curtains since I left school (22 years ago)! I'm making a shirt for my line dancing competition (Simplicity 9877) and in reading instructions it says to stay stitch around the neck line.

Can anyone out there tell how I do this please? I'd really appreciate your help as I've 2 wks to make this shirt!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
Try putting this on the message board under Techniques and Tips. This section is to offer info, not seek it. People who want to learn about this will look here, and those who already know may not check it out.
4/4/04 8:51 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Stay stitching is done to prevent the fabric from stretching out of shape. Normally this on the neckline [shirts and tops] and waistline [for pants and skirts]. It is a regular straight stitch on your machine, done just inside the sewing line [if the seam allowance is 5/8", the stay stitching is done at 1/2"], on a single layer of fabric. Be sure to just guide the fabric in front of the needle, so it doesn't stretch. You may need to pull slightly on the fabric behind the needle, so it doesn't pucker.
4/5/04 1:47 AM
Kimm said...
Thank you "SewVeryTall". It makes sense to me now!
4/5/04 2:41 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Kimm, you're welcome! I'm glad I could help. I couldn't find the "message board tips and techniques", and so I figured you might be having the same problem.
4/6/04 12:28 PM
julienna said...
hi .. the message board you are looking for is under the main topic General Sewing Talk -- subtopic, Sewing Techniques and Tips. Hope this helps.... :)
4/9/04 5:09 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Julienna!
4/9/04 3:46 PM
Winifred said...
This is a question isn't it? Should be in a different section?
6/1/06 6:17 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us