SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stay Stitching

Viewed 5244 times
Posted by: Kimm
photo

 
 
About Kimm
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/2/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/04 8:16 PM
Review Rating: Off-topic by 2 people   
Hi folks, I'm new to this game. Haven't sewing anything bar curtains since I left school (22 years ago)! I'm making a shirt for my line dancing competition (Simplicity 9877) and in reading instructions it says to stay stitch around the neck line.

Can anyone out there tell how I do this please? I'd really appreciate your help as I've 2 wks to make this shirt!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Winifred said...
This is a question isn't it? Should be in a different section?
6/1/06 6:17 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Julienna!
4/9/04 3:46 PM
julienna said...
hi .. the message board you are looking for is under the main topic General Sewing Talk -- subtopic, Sewing Techniques and Tips. Hope this helps.... :)
4/9/04 5:09 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Kimm, you're welcome! I'm glad I could help. I couldn't find the "message board tips and techniques", and so I figured you might be having the same problem.
4/6/04 12:28 PM
Kimm said...
Thank you "SewVeryTall". It makes sense to me now!
4/5/04 2:41 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Stay stitching is done to prevent the fabric from stretching out of shape. Normally this on the neckline [shirts and tops] and waistline [for pants and skirts]. It is a regular straight stitch on your machine, done just inside the sewing line [if the seam allowance is 5/8", the stay stitching is done at 1/2"], on a single layer of fabric. Be sure to just guide the fabric in front of the needle, so it doesn't stretch. You may need to pull slightly on the fabric behind the needle, so it doesn't pucker.
4/5/04 1:47 AM
Stitchology said...
Try putting this on the message board under Techniques and Tips. This section is to offer info, not seek it. People who want to learn about this will look here, and those who already know may not check it out.
4/4/04 8:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

More Info
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.