SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pin pricks finger, blood on fabric

Viewed 5187 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/17/04 7:47 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I don't remember where I heard this tip, but I was just in a position to try it out. A pin stuck my finger, and I didn't think it 'got me' enough to bleed, but I was wrong. I was working on a piece of cream colored cotton blend, and there it was, a red dot of blood, right in the middle of all my hard work, and in a very noticable place...heart failure...and then I remembered the tip. You use the enzymes in your own saliva to get it out. I put the little area of fabric in my mouth, got it wet, sucked on it, and it worked! Even after it dried, there was not the slightest trace of blood left behind [I didn't even need to launder it]. I don't know if this works on all types of fabric, but it's sure worth a try.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
Cool, I have often "stuck" myself, now I will know what to do! Love your name, I will have to think of a "better" name for me.!!
4/17/04 11:59 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Charlene, hehe.
4/18/04 3:07 AM
MeMe said...
I'll have to remember to try that! I'm working with a synthetic fabric now, and on the back of my mind is, "I hope I don't prick my finger on this!" We'll see:> Thanks
4/18/04 6:19 AM
Sew it seams said...
Another thing that works well is regular Hydrogen Peroxide. When I worked in a Dentist office we used to dab a bit with a q-tip (wet with plain water) on our cotton/poly uniforms and the spot dissapears like magic. I keep a bottle for "emergencies" in my sewing room. And have used it several times on white wedding dresses. Of course, you should always try it on a scrap of the same fabic first. Thanks for your tip. I have heard of it before, but had forgotten about it.
4/18/04 9:55 AM
PVA said...
I first heard this from a great sewing/quilting educator, and it does really work. Thanks for sharing it with so many others.
4/19/04 5:36 PM
Lou. said...
Great tip!
4/21/04 2:32 PM
Bronnie said...
having a son who gets hurt often, this one may come in very handy!! thanks
4/27/04 3:33 AM
Willoh said...
Hydrogen Peroxide works well too!
6/24/04 9:24 AM
els said...
If I get a blood dot on my fabrics I wet a strand of cotton basting thread with my saliva and use this wet thread to remove the blood spot.
6/24/04 2:29 PM
nursesarah79 said...
This tips does work. My sewing teacher in college told me about it. I find it very useful in hand quilting. Just dab a little of your saliva on the spot where you bled and rub it out! Worked every time that i have tried.
7/22/04 11:58 PM
Diana M said...
I just had occassion to use this -- so glad it stuck in my memory! My first beading, on white chenille. . . Thank you!
4/1/05 4:01 PM
Barbara R said...
I joke that I have a bit of my blood inside every project I sew. Now that I know this tip, maybe I can put an end to that trend!
7/29/05 1:59 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I did this last night on white fabric, but I just sorta goobed on it...and it didn't come out. I hope I didn't wait too long and will be able to get it out with soap and water (it's super tiny) but now I know in the future to actually but the fabric in my mouth instead of just drooling on it...lol
4/13/07 1:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.