SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Preshrinking Iron-in Interfacing

Viewed 5444 times
Posted by: Diana M
photo

 
 
About Diana M star
WA USA
Member since: 4/19/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/20/04 6:51 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
You CAN preshrink the iron 0n interfacing so it won't ruin the garment by shrinking after its all sewn. Cut according to pattern, trim as described in the pattern directions, then lay it carefully in place. Hold a good steam iron about 6-10" above it and give it a heavy dose of steam. Very carefully, pick the interfacing up, then gently lay it back down. You will be able to see that it has shrunk some (how much depends on the kind and the size of the piece).

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
julienna said...
SewVeryTall -- thanks :)
4/26/04 10:45 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I usually buy many yards of interfacing at a time. Not all interfacings shrink. Another tip is to do a test. Cut out a 2-3" shape of the new interfacing and a scrap of preshrunk fabric at once, so they are exactly the same size. Then blast the interfacing with steam and see if it changes. Then you can pin a note to that interfacing, telling whether it shrinks or not.
4/23/04 8:18 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Julienna-I noticed this too...you're thinking correctly. If using this method, cut, preshrink, then trim.
4/23/04 7:41 AM
julienna said...
hi... I am very inexperience when it comes to preshrinking...first time i heard about this preshrinking method. It is a good one because I'll then be able to just preshrink the cut out pieces. But, I am wondering, if I do that, after trimming the interfacing, wouldnt the interfacing then be smaller than the intended size? Does it or doesn't it matter? What if I preshrink first , then trim the interfacing?
4/23/04 2:02 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Thanks Londa, I'll try this method next time.
4/22/04 8:39 AM
Diana M said...
Yes, I do this all the time with the interfacing for small pieces like collars, cuffs, and facing pieces -- and yes, it does work! I'd not heard of the pre-shrinking in hot water and then flat drying, but I imagine it would be the better choice for larger pieces, such as those in jacket fronts, or if you're preshrinking a large amount you've just brought home from the store. Thank you for your responses and suggestions!
4/21/04 1:41 PM
Ann C said...
Thanks everyone for this reminder.
4/21/04 8:26 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
I have always taught that all interfacing needs to be preshrunk. I have garments to prove you need to! If it is a sew-in, wash it in the washing machine and dry it in the drier. If it is a fusible, lay folded in a sink of HOT water - and let stay til water cools. Roll in a towel and LAY it out to dry - hanging it may cause growth in the fibers that will then want to shrink. This is the best, safest way, and I NEVER break these rules. Try it - be safe. Time is too valuable. :)
4/21/04 8:03 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Asa, have you actually tried this? Did it work? I ask because here in the UK we have not had a tradition of pre-shrinking interfacing. It is only since American magazines etc. have become available here that I have heard of a need for it. I recently treated some yardage , as you suggest, and it went all floppy and lost it's stick! Is this a common occurence? TIA, Clare. ( England)
4/21/04 7:34 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Another way is to shrink the yardage by immersing the interfacing in hot water, then hanging to dry.
4/21/04 2:32 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. I wish I had known that about two weeks ago. I made a purse and the interfacing shrunk as it was ironed on. Yuck - it wasn't pretty Luckily you can remove it with a little more steam.
4/20/04 7:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.