Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
adding a shelf bra (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6246 times
Review rated Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Posted by: Dale C
photo
Friend of PR
About Dale C starstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/24/02 2:11 AM
Last Updated: 4/13/03 11:19 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Boobless as I am, I like having something between me and my shirt to keep things from showing through. So, whenever I make a pattern that would show bra straps, I add a shelf bra. Here's how I do it...

1) Using the front and back pieces of the original pattern (Kwik Sew 2741 was used here), I traced the neckline and side seams and center front down about 2 to 3.5 inches. This measurement depends upon the size of your bust. Mine is small, so I use about 2".

2) For the front piece, I measured from the top of my breast (where the top of the camisole would be) over the breast and down to where the bra band would run. I transferred this measurement from the top point of the camisole pattern straight down. This is where I marked the deepest part of the curve.

3) For the back piece, I matched the side seam from the front bra pattern and drew a line straight across.

4) On both the front and back pieces, I subtracted 1/4" at the bottom of the side seams tapering back up to the original line at the top. The pattern is ready.

Sewing the bra in:

1) Sew side seams for both camisole, and bra.
2) Baste the top edges together.
3) Measure elastic and make and match 1/4 marks.
4) Sew directly on around the bottom. I used my cover stitch machine, but a zigzag would work.
5) Finish top.
6) Try on and pin bra cups in. Zig zag these into the shelf bra.
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Dale, this is a very helpful tip! I have been wondering how to do this. Where did you get the bra cups? I know joanns sells some but I am not sure if they are the best.
11/24/02 10:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Diane E said...
Dale, this is great! These little cami/shelf bra combos are very expensive in the RTW catalogs, and would be a wonderful addition to ones wardrobe or undie drawer. One question - if one is really "boobless" - that is, a scant B cup (A+?), do you think you could make the shelf without the extra bra cups? Hmmm perhaps some experimentation is in order....
11/24/02 1:31 PM
Dale C said...
Deepika, most of those places that sell swimwear/undergarment sewing notions have them. I got mine through the internet at http://www.fabricdepotco.com . I wrote a review about it in the website section. They also have them at the SewSassy website. Diane, you don't need to put the bra cups in. In fact, the ones in RTW don't have the cups. I like them because it keeps things from poking through... I'm sure you know what I mean. Hope that helps. :)
11/24/02 3:00 PM
Nan said...
Dale, This is a great tip! I want to be sure I understand your steps. In step 2, it sounds like you are getting a linear measure for the curvature of the breast, right, ie., from top of your camisole, straight down over the nipple (sorry to be blunt), then to wear you hit the ribcage. Is this right? Also, I'm not sure I understand step 4. It sounds like maybe the side seams are slightly angled from the CF of the bra piece. Is this right? Thanks Dale, btw, I like your camisole a lot Nan
11/24/02 4:57 PM
Dale C said...
You have it correct Nan. I'm not sure it will work out well for someone with B or C cups. The bigger your measurements, you will have a deeper curve, thus more to ease into the elastic. I'm small on top and this works out fine for me. Also, it does angle in on the sides just slightly. I like it to be snug for support and less bulk. Don't forget to add the 1/4" for seam allowances at the bottom of the bra.
11/24/02 6:07 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Dale ! this is very interesting. i know at one time it was "ok" to have your bra straps showing or sliding down your arms. but thats not me, it bugs me and i would love to be able to do this kind of technique. im boobless too !! lol... but i still would like to keep everything under cover.. thanks for the tip/technique on this.
11/24/02 6:31 PM
Diane E said...
Dale, I finally had a chance to come back to read the rest of the comments and find all the wisdom here. These are such great techniques and will save me a ton of money on undies (so I can spend it on everything else! LOL!) Thanks again for all the instructions and sources.
12/7/02 1:05 PM
Pam Z said...
What type of fabric do you recommend for the shelf bra? I like your cami & your tank. They both look great on you! I can't wait to try a project with a shelf bra :) Thanks for your review Dale.
4/15/03 6:17 PM
Dale C said...
Pam, I normally use the same fabric that I use for the camisole. Any knit would work though. You could even cut up an old t-shirt to use if you have to.
4/15/03 11:24 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us