Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Forward shoulder sleeve adjustment NEW! (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6294 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 36 people   
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/22/04 3:19 PM
Some of you who have the forward shoulder problem probably remember me giving instructions for adjusting the sleeve by making two vertical slashes in the pattern to add length to the back half and reduce length in the front half. A wee bit time consuming but so worth it in the final fit.

Well, the other night I was lying in bed and Eureka! I got a new idea for adjusting the sleeve that is soooo much easier. First, draw a horizontal line across the cap just under the notches, perpendicular to the grainline. Make a hash mark through the line you've just drawn directly beneath the shoulder notch (this will help you see how much to slide the cap over). Cut off the cap then slide it toward the front the amount of your shoulder adjustment. Tape into place. Add additional tissue to the back. Now true up the front and back, redraw your front/back notches and there you have it. Same end result with a lot less work.
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Thanks for this tip Gigi. I definitely need this and the only reason I've not been doing FSA is because of the laziness in doing the sleeve. I have a question though. After sliding the cap and taping it in place, I'll need to redraw the front and back cap right?
4/22/04 3:24 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Yes, Deepika, that's right. I am so pleased to have discovered this easy method - anything to reduce the time it takes to make alterations. :-)
4/22/04 3:27 PM
Stitchology said...
Gigi you are a genius.
4/22/04 8:58 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great tip. I make this FSA but honestly don't adjust the sleeve pattern. Thus my underarm seams don't always line up exactly. No one really sees this but my dry cleaner and me, but it always betters my perfectionist leanings. So this tip really makes sense and easy to do. Thanks!!
4/23/04 6:01 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Gigi-great tip, don't ya just love those eureka ideas, lol. Say, the message board isn't working for me, so I'll tell you here where I know you'll see it...I had to leave 3 replies for you under the 'fabric bowls, sewing' tip. Apparently there's a size limit on comments.
4/23/04 8:37 AM
Elley said...
Wow! Great tip! This will be much faster and easier. Gigi, you are the greatest!
4/23/04 12:40 PM
Loreli said...
Super tip Gigi, thanks.
4/25/04 12:38 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Don't you also have to change the bodice? I'm sorry, but I'm a little confused, as I've been changing the bodice for this problem for a long time. I first make a horizontal cut in the armhole, near the first notch, to the middle of the shoulder seam. Then cut the shoulder seam down to the horizontal cut. This gives me a "block" I can move up or down--up for the front; down for the back. Then I move the notches on my sleeve to accommodate any adjustment to the bodice. But I really love your idea of cutting the cap off; that's great! And soo much easier!
11/4/04 7:05 AM
natural blue said...
Beth, Yes you would alter the bodice for the FSA. This tip refers specifically to the alteration that is needed for the sleeve when doing a forward shoulder adjustment.
1/9/05 5:55 PM
PVA said...
Gigi, thanks so much for this tip! I'm just starting into the work for the jacket class with Shannon Gifford & *really needed* this additional "detail" for the FSA! I'm really trailing along behind the pack for this class, but I'm determined to "get it right"! Thanks again. (8^D) Pat
1/15/05 10:31 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Excellent tip! I can visualize this quickly and it seems so very easy!
5/21/05 6:40 PM
meanjean said...
I just saw a reference to this tip in one of the forums. Fantastic! I wish I had read this last week before I spent hours pulling my hair out and stumbling onto the shape you so succinctly describe. I will definitely be using this tip in the future.
7/6/05 11:41 PM
coool said...
Hi Gigi, Good day! I am still a little confused here. Would appreciate more if you could kindly explain a little more on the part "Cut off the cap". Where and which part should I cut? Cut the horizontal line that I had drawn? Do I also need to adjust the bodice part? I'm sorry. I have FS problem and am dying to get it right but not sure how to go about doing it. Thanks in advance. Coool
9/22/05 7:58 PM
zahra13542003 said...
hi im verry happy to join this site i wanna know where can i find a site that have the pattern draft? plz help me thanx
4/12/06 7:40 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great idea. Thanks.
1/17/10 2:25 PM
sew42mom said...
Thank you so much!
2/20/10 2:58 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us