SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Avoid twisted thread when sewing by hand

Viewed 5441 times
Posted by: victoriaj
photo

 
 
About victoriaj
MA USA
Member since: 12/3/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/26/04 1:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
I recently read this tip in a book:
If you thread the needle with the end of the thread that comes off the spool first (instead of the end you cut), you are sewing with the spiral rather than against. I tried it and it does seem to help avoid the twisty knots.

Of course, Thread Heaven wax helps also.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
j2anna said...
Great explanantion. Thanks
10/21/07 10:23 AM
serendpd said...
I like this tip! Thanx
5/22/07 1:41 AM
serendpd said...

5/22/07 1:41 AM
serendpd said...
This is the kink of tip I like! Unexpectantly simple. Thanx
5/22/07 1:38 AM
ms.gerri said...
gerat thought, I will try as I do a lot of aew at work. The twisty thread slow down my work.
6/26/04 11:32 AM
May May said...
Thanks for that tip! I normally use the wax, but sometimes it builds up and get stuck in the eye of the needle.
5/10/04 9:59 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Joann...that is truly a new one for me. I'm wondering how big the eye of your needle is, to accomplish the threading without going insane! ;) I will try it, though. p.s. my comment above is for single thread hand sewing.
4/29/04 5:37 AM
Joann Eidhoff said...
When I hand sew buttons on I always thread both ends of the thread into the needle and then form a loop at the eye of the needle. The thread never twists this way. (This is an old 4-H hint that I've been using longer that I wouldliketo admit.)
4/28/04 9:34 AM
Ann C said...
Have not tried Thread Heaven, but beeswax works well for me.
4/27/04 8:50 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip, it does really help. I always do this, and I also knot that end before cutting the thread off the spool. If you should take thread from a bobbin for hand sewing, do the opposite.
4/27/04 5:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.