SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Avoid twisted thread when sewing by hand

Viewed 5277 times
Posted by: victoriaj
photo

 
 
About victoriaj
MA USA
Member since: 12/3/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/26/04 1:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
I recently read this tip in a book:
If you thread the needle with the end of the thread that comes off the spool first (instead of the end you cut), you are sewing with the spiral rather than against. I tried it and it does seem to help avoid the twisty knots.

Of course, Thread Heaven wax helps also.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip, it does really help. I always do this, and I also knot that end before cutting the thread off the spool. If you should take thread from a bobbin for hand sewing, do the opposite.
4/27/04 5:34 AM
Ann C said...
Have not tried Thread Heaven, but beeswax works well for me.
4/27/04 8:50 AM
Joann Eidhoff said...
When I hand sew buttons on I always thread both ends of the thread into the needle and then form a loop at the eye of the needle. The thread never twists this way. (This is an old 4-H hint that I've been using longer that I wouldliketo admit.)
4/28/04 9:34 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Joann...that is truly a new one for me. I'm wondering how big the eye of your needle is, to accomplish the threading without going insane! ;) I will try it, though. p.s. my comment above is for single thread hand sewing.
4/29/04 5:37 AM
May May said...
Thanks for that tip! I normally use the wax, but sometimes it builds up and get stuck in the eye of the needle.
5/10/04 9:59 PM
ms.gerri said...
gerat thought, I will try as I do a lot of aew at work. The twisty thread slow down my work.
6/26/04 11:32 AM
serendpd said...
This is the kink of tip I like! Unexpectantly simple. Thanx
5/22/07 1:38 AM
serendpd said...

5/22/07 1:41 AM
serendpd said...
I like this tip! Thanx
5/22/07 1:41 AM
j2anna said...
Great explanantion. Thanks
10/21/07 10:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.