SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Simplest way to mark pants leg hems

Viewed 5559 times
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/04 12:42 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
I mentioned this on the message boards, was reminded to post it as a technique so here goes (read it in Threads years ago):

You need a helper for this tip:

(1) Put on the pants, take a ruler, and have your helper place it behind your leg on the floor, parallel to the back of your leg.

(2) Have them chaulk-mark the pant at the top of the ruler on each leg.

(3) Remove the pants, and on each pant leg mark 12 inches down from the top chaulk-mark mark.

(4) You now have perfectly marked the hem for each leg. Just add your hem allowance to the bottom mark on each leg and you're all set to hem.

Give it a try....it really works!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jupiter, FL said...
Thanks, Great tip.
10/18/05 2:28 PM
OKgirl said...
thanks you very much!
2/15/05 8:12 PM
Barbara J said...
This is a great method, DH marks the back of my pantleg for me, and doesn't even sign.
9/23/04 3:15 AM
boots777 said...
WOW!
9/22/04 5:10 PM
cynthia w said...
when you bend over to mark the pants your pants will shift and the markings will be off, won't they? i guess i'm confused too........
5/3/04 11:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting tips and comments. I am so visual learning that I am going to have to walk myself through this. I have a hem marker thing that I have never used so perhaps I need to try both. But then I don't make pants.
5/1/04 6:33 AM
AnneM said...
SewinRosie, that's a great idea! You set the hem marker at a particular height from the floor, & you don't have to bend over to mark it! Annette, if I understand the hint, you would want to be barefoot. That is generally the length you would want to hem pants: not so long that it gets under your foot, but long enough to "break" on the front of the foot. (That doesn't apply to crop pants, obviously.)
4/30/04 7:35 PM
SewinRosie said...
Carrying it one step further, you could also use one of those chalk hem markers rather than a ruler or yardstick. Thanks for the idea!
4/30/04 8:49 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Maybe this will help some to understand this tip...marking a hem near the floor is kind of hard to do, the fabric may be bunching up from dragging on the floor, so it's not hanging freely. By measuring from the floor, and marking some distance above, where the fabric is hanging freely, you get a reference point to then use to measure from, when you take them off. The way Phyllis has described measuring, would put your hem right at the floor...if you know you like your hem 1 inch above the floor, you'd measure down from the 'ruler marking' 11 inches [and add hem allowance]. Hope this helps. ......p.s. to AnneM--lol, I guess that is kinda funny [what's funnier is that I'd still have to bend over using a yardstick, my inseam is 38 inches, lol]
4/30/04 7:35 AM
Annette H said...
I also don't quite get it - does it work because you're wearing heels - and would this work with a straight skirt, too?
4/30/04 6:42 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Hmm, this should be useful when marking the hemline on long drapes and curtains too... Thanks for the tip Phyllis!
4/30/04 6:40 AM
AnneM said...
A yardstick :P I'm not that tall! (Yes, I know, I could mark it at something other than 3 feet, but I still think it is funny.) This really is a great suggestion; thanks!
4/30/04 6:24 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool idea...good way to get a reference point on the fabric. A yardstick would work better if you have to do it alone. Bending over to mark the top of the ruler would probably change the position of the pant legs.
4/30/04 5:02 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
step 2 I don't get! Help!!! Mark the pant where - oh a ruler, not a yardstick. I still don't get it. .............. :(
4/29/04 11:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.