SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Simplest way to mark pants leg hems

Viewed 5431 times
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/04 12:42 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
I mentioned this on the message boards, was reminded to post it as a technique so here goes (read it in Threads years ago):

You need a helper for this tip:

(1) Put on the pants, take a ruler, and have your helper place it behind your leg on the floor, parallel to the back of your leg.

(2) Have them chaulk-mark the pant at the top of the ruler on each leg.

(3) Remove the pants, and on each pant leg mark 12 inches down from the top chaulk-mark mark.

(4) You now have perfectly marked the hem for each leg. Just add your hem allowance to the bottom mark on each leg and you're all set to hem.

Give it a try....it really works!


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Londa Rohlfing said...
step 2 I don't get! Help!!! Mark the pant where - oh a ruler, not a yardstick. I still don't get it. .............. :(
4/29/04 11:29 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool idea...good way to get a reference point on the fabric. A yardstick would work better if you have to do it alone. Bending over to mark the top of the ruler would probably change the position of the pant legs.
4/30/04 5:02 AM
AnneM said...
A yardstick :P I'm not that tall! (Yes, I know, I could mark it at something other than 3 feet, but I still think it is funny.) This really is a great suggestion; thanks!
4/30/04 6:24 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Hmm, this should be useful when marking the hemline on long drapes and curtains too... Thanks for the tip Phyllis!
4/30/04 6:40 AM
Annette H said...
I also don't quite get it - does it work because you're wearing heels - and would this work with a straight skirt, too?
4/30/04 6:42 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Maybe this will help some to understand this tip...marking a hem near the floor is kind of hard to do, the fabric may be bunching up from dragging on the floor, so it's not hanging freely. By measuring from the floor, and marking some distance above, where the fabric is hanging freely, you get a reference point to then use to measure from, when you take them off. The way Phyllis has described measuring, would put your hem right at the floor...if you know you like your hem 1 inch above the floor, you'd measure down from the 'ruler marking' 11 inches [and add hem allowance]. Hope this helps. ......p.s. to AnneM--lol, I guess that is kinda funny [what's funnier is that I'd still have to bend over using a yardstick, my inseam is 38 inches, lol]
4/30/04 7:35 AM
SewinRosie said...
Carrying it one step further, you could also use one of those chalk hem markers rather than a ruler or yardstick. Thanks for the idea!
4/30/04 8:49 AM
AnneM said...
SewinRosie, that's a great idea! You set the hem marker at a particular height from the floor, & you don't have to bend over to mark it! Annette, if I understand the hint, you would want to be barefoot. That is generally the length you would want to hem pants: not so long that it gets under your foot, but long enough to "break" on the front of the foot. (That doesn't apply to crop pants, obviously.)
4/30/04 7:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting tips and comments. I am so visual learning that I am going to have to walk myself through this. I have a hem marker thing that I have never used so perhaps I need to try both. But then I don't make pants.
5/1/04 6:33 AM
cynthia w said...
when you bend over to mark the pants your pants will shift and the markings will be off, won't they? i guess i'm confused too........
5/3/04 11:14 AM
boots777 said...
WOW!
9/22/04 5:10 PM
Barbara J said...
This is a great method, DH marks the back of my pantleg for me, and doesn't even sign.
9/23/04 3:15 AM
OKgirl said...
thanks you very much!
2/15/05 8:12 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Thanks, Great tip.
10/18/05 2:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.