Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplest way to mark pants leg hems (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5258 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/04 12:42 PM
I mentioned this on the message boards, was reminded to post it as a technique so here goes (read it in Threads years ago):

You need a helper for this tip:

(1) Put on the pants, take a ruler, and have your helper place it behind your leg on the floor, parallel to the back of your leg.

(2) Have them chaulk-mark the pant at the top of the ruler on each leg.

(3) Remove the pants, and on each pant leg mark 12 inches down from the top chaulk-mark mark.

(4) You now have perfectly marked the hem for each leg. Just add your hem allowance to the bottom mark on each leg and you're all set to hem.

Give it a try....it really works!

Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Londa Rohlfing said...
step 2 I don't get! Help!!! Mark the pant where - oh a ruler, not a yardstick. I still don't get it. .............. :(
4/29/04 11:29 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool idea...good way to get a reference point on the fabric. A yardstick would work better if you have to do it alone. Bending over to mark the top of the ruler would probably change the position of the pant legs.
4/30/04 5:02 AM
AnneM said...
A yardstick :P I'm not that tall! (Yes, I know, I could mark it at something other than 3 feet, but I still think it is funny.) This really is a great suggestion; thanks!
4/30/04 6:24 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Hmm, this should be useful when marking the hemline on long drapes and curtains too... Thanks for the tip Phyllis!
4/30/04 6:40 AM
Annette H said...
I also don't quite get it - does it work because you're wearing heels - and would this work with a straight skirt, too?
4/30/04 6:42 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Maybe this will help some to understand this tip...marking a hem near the floor is kind of hard to do, the fabric may be bunching up from dragging on the floor, so it's not hanging freely. By measuring from the floor, and marking some distance above, where the fabric is hanging freely, you get a reference point to then use to measure from, when you take them off. The way Phyllis has described measuring, would put your hem right at the floor...if you know you like your hem 1 inch above the floor, you'd measure down from the 'ruler marking' 11 inches [and add hem allowance]. Hope this helps. ......p.s. to AnneM--lol, I guess that is kinda funny [what's funnier is that I'd still have to bend over using a yardstick, my inseam is 38 inches, lol]
4/30/04 7:35 AM
SewinRosie said...
Carrying it one step further, you could also use one of those chalk hem markers rather than a ruler or yardstick. Thanks for the idea!
4/30/04 8:49 AM
AnneM said...
SewinRosie, that's a great idea! You set the hem marker at a particular height from the floor, & you don't have to bend over to mark it! Annette, if I understand the hint, you would want to be barefoot. That is generally the length you would want to hem pants: not so long that it gets under your foot, but long enough to "break" on the front of the foot. (That doesn't apply to crop pants, obviously.)
4/30/04 7:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting tips and comments. I am so visual learning that I am going to have to walk myself through this. I have a hem marker thing that I have never used so perhaps I need to try both. But then I don't make pants.
5/1/04 6:33 AM
cynthia w said...
when you bend over to mark the pants your pants will shift and the markings will be off, won't they? i guess i'm confused too........
5/3/04 11:14 AM
boots777 said...
WOW!
9/22/04 5:10 PM
Barbara J said...
This is a great method, DH marks the back of my pantleg for me, and doesn't even sign.
9/23/04 3:15 AM
OKgirl said...
thanks you very much!
2/15/05 8:12 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Thanks, Great tip.
10/18/05 2:28 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us