SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using 3-Step ZigZag to Hem difficult Knits

Viewed 6236 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/30/04 7:06 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Asa's tip finally reminded me that I wanted to write a tip about this a while ago. I have been sewing with knits for a while now and every now and then I come across some really tightly knitted fabrics which bunch up on my sewing machine if I try to do the simple zig zag stitch. I also have problems with skipped stitches.

But try the 3-step zig zag stitch on your machine. It works like a charm. The hem is sretchy and is very strong too. I use the default setting on my machine although I've shortened the stitch width for doing edgestitching on some tops.

Like always, do try some sample first to get a "feel" for the stitch and decide which one looks the best. I hardly ever used this stitch before but now its one of my favorite stitches.

I like to attatch samples to my notebook for later reference.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
stitchit said...
I find that if I hang on to the threads when I begin sewing, fabrics don't bunch up.Will try the 3-step zig-zag! Stitchit
5/27/04 1:55 AM
May May said...
Thanks for that tip, I've been afraid to sew with knit, but with this tip I'm tempted to try!
5/10/04 10:18 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Cliff-a 3-step zigzag is a unique stitch. It takes 3 stitches to one side, then 3 stitches back, to make one 'zigzag'. A triple zigzag is a normal zigzag that goes forward, then backward, then forward again, over itself...triple the thread in each zigzag. Hope this explains it so you understand. I'm not familiar with a Brother machine, to know if it has a 3-step zigzag. My machine depicts this stitch as a broken-line-zigzag [or like a "Z" made of dashes].
5/10/04 5:15 PM
CliffGh said...
One thing though, is this the same as Brothers "Triple Zig Zag Stitch"?
5/10/04 4:09 PM
Diana M said...
Nice idea! Love sewing with knits, esp. for kids -- don't like having the seams rip apart when they "be kids."
5/2/04 8:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
Will try this as an alternative to the TWIN-needle hems I've been doing on knits. (Those stretch twin needles are expensive! BTW, for lycra or spandex hems, I have used stretch-twin needle, with regular zigzag stitch .5 cm wide, 3 cm long; for other seams on same, difficult fabrics, I usually use .5 cm w, 1 cm long--always testing first, of course.) I'll definitely try your 3 step zigzag suggestion for hems and edgestitching.
5/1/04 6:15 AM
Barbara J said...
I recently used 3 step zig-zag on the hems and centre front seam of a morphed stretch terry hoody, also on neck and hood, it looks cute, I set my manual machine to stitch length 1, and zig-zag 4.
5/1/04 0:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.