SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using 3-Step ZigZag to Hem difficult Knits

Viewed 6188 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/30/04 7:06 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Asa's tip finally reminded me that I wanted to write a tip about this a while ago. I have been sewing with knits for a while now and every now and then I come across some really tightly knitted fabrics which bunch up on my sewing machine if I try to do the simple zig zag stitch. I also have problems with skipped stitches.

But try the 3-step zig zag stitch on your machine. It works like a charm. The hem is sretchy and is very strong too. I use the default setting on my machine although I've shortened the stitch width for doing edgestitching on some tops.

Like always, do try some sample first to get a "feel" for the stitch and decide which one looks the best. I hardly ever used this stitch before but now its one of my favorite stitches.

I like to attatch samples to my notebook for later reference.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
stitchit said...
I find that if I hang on to the threads when I begin sewing, fabrics don't bunch up.Will try the 3-step zig-zag! Stitchit
5/27/04 1:55 AM
May May said...
Thanks for that tip, I've been afraid to sew with knit, but with this tip I'm tempted to try!
5/10/04 10:18 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Cliff-a 3-step zigzag is a unique stitch. It takes 3 stitches to one side, then 3 stitches back, to make one 'zigzag'. A triple zigzag is a normal zigzag that goes forward, then backward, then forward again, over itself...triple the thread in each zigzag. Hope this explains it so you understand. I'm not familiar with a Brother machine, to know if it has a 3-step zigzag. My machine depicts this stitch as a broken-line-zigzag [or like a "Z" made of dashes].
5/10/04 5:15 PM
CliffGh said...
One thing though, is this the same as Brothers "Triple Zig Zag Stitch"?
5/10/04 4:09 PM
Diana M said...
Nice idea! Love sewing with knits, esp. for kids -- don't like having the seams rip apart when they "be kids."
5/2/04 8:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
Will try this as an alternative to the TWIN-needle hems I've been doing on knits. (Those stretch twin needles are expensive! BTW, for lycra or spandex hems, I have used stretch-twin needle, with regular zigzag stitch .5 cm wide, 3 cm long; for other seams on same, difficult fabrics, I usually use .5 cm w, 1 cm long--always testing first, of course.) I'll definitely try your 3 step zigzag suggestion for hems and edgestitching.
5/1/04 6:15 AM
Barbara J said...
I recently used 3 step zig-zag on the hems and centre front seam of a morphed stretch terry hoody, also on neck and hood, it looks cute, I set my manual machine to stitch length 1, and zig-zag 4.
5/1/04 0:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.