SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > marking skirt hem by yourself

Viewed 6330 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/1/04 5:04 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 36 people   
Phyllis' hem tip made me remember this one. This tip is for people who have no help or special tools to mark their skirt or dress hems.
Tape a piece of string across a doorway. Use a ruler to measure each side of the doorway, from the floor up, for placement of the string, so it's level. Using plain school chalk, rub the string so it's full of chalk dust. Then wearing the dress or skirt, stand next to the string and slowly turn around so the chalk dust makes marks on the fabric. This really works...I've got my chalked string in a baggie, waiting to be reused.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patricia Dee said...
would never have thoughtr of doing it thsi way. Thanks I will try it.
1/15/08 10:12 AM
busyozmum said...
Oh my goodness, what a wonderful tip! Love it, love it, love it! Thank you so much for sharing this.
9/6/07 2:13 AM
sewbehind said...
Brilliant. I am going to use that one. I must wear gloves when working with the chalk though. It gives me the creeps.
6/6/07 10:44 PM
regine said...
Excellent idea, thanks so much.
1/22/06 1:14 AM
Clev said...
Good one helpful person, I'm going to try it. :)
7/7/05 8:29 PM
ChubbyBaby said...
Really neat tip!!! I'm going to try it the next time I make a skirt ;) Thanks!
5/20/04 3:33 AM
May May said...
Thanks Phyllis, that's a great tip and I plan to use it.
5/10/04 10:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think I remember reading this one before somewhere but very timely now. Thanks for adding this to tips.
5/2/04 3:57 PM
CycleGal said...
What a great tip!! Good for when DBF groans when its time to hem something....
5/2/04 8:46 AM
SewTwin said...
Cool! I am going to be hemming a "soft" hem soon, and this will help! I will try it, and let you know!! Thanks for the tip!
5/2/04 4:58 AM
ChrisK said...
Great tip, what a brilliant idea. Thanks.
5/1/04 2:09 PM
kathi s said...
Clever! I'll save that one.
5/1/04 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.