SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > silk ribbon work in the bobbin

Viewed 5882 times
Posted by: Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfing star
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/13/04 5:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is "bobbin work" with a sewing machine. It was done with a 7.5 mm long stitch length on an Elna 9000. That machine, along with the Diva, 8000, and 6000 had a 'bypass' hole in the drop-in bobbin casing that accommodated bobbin work "sew" beautifully. I haven't seen (personally) a machine since that had this long of a stitch length and could do this work with 4 mm wide silk ribbon as beautifully. I took no extra care in winding the silk onto the bobbin - done by machine, just letting ribbon slip through my fingers to hold somewhat straight, but not caring if it twisted or not.
Here is a close-up view:
http://www.londas-sewing.com/images/ribbonworkcloseup.jpg

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
stitchit said...
Looks lovely but I have never done any silk ribon sewing, would like to try someday.
5/27/04 2:01 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
To answer Grogeous things: Yes, an extra long straight stitch : 7.5 mm. So - no extra width needed. REad following comments on Mandolin 82's picture at "click here". Mandolin: ON your picture of trials: the top 2 rows - from my experience, the irregularity of the stitch is due to the fact the ribbon is slippery rayon - not much you can do about that, but make it the 'look' you are going for anyway. The vertical strip on the right hand side: note you can see the upper thread a bit with every stitch - which also can be a very neat effect. Often with the silk ribbon, I used matching very lightweight cotton thread (60 wt cotton Mettler), or even YLI monofilament thread. The bottom most row is silk ribbon, I'm assuming - and it is pretty much like mine. I can't for the life of me duplicate the exact stitch I got on the Elna on my Pfaff or any machine with an auxillary bobbin case. For other drop-in bobbin machines, I would suggest just not going in the tension spot. Also - increasing the upper tension might help.
5/15/04 9:08 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Londa, You got me inspired and I did some experimenting myself. Here are some examples, playing with stitch length and tension, etc. click here The black I used was rayon floss (about 2-3 mm) the other is a quarter inch ribbon. I have a Berninan 200E and for the longer stitches I used my longest stitch length and selected the function that skips every other stitch (making an extra long stitch). For the floss I used my bobbin case with the floss coming through the regular opening. For the ribbon I skipped the regular opening and brought the ribbon just the large opening in the top of the bobbin case and threaded it up through the footplate (which I had to take off to do this). For those looking for more info on bobbin work there is a good article in issue #97 of Threads. Susan
5/15/04 0:33 AM
debbie.w said...
beautiful workmanship. I love the colors.
5/14/04 8:47 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Londa, can you please clarify a bit? Is this just a straight stitch? What kind of needle do you use? Any recommendations for those of us who have machines that only go up to 6mm?
5/14/04 7:28 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Cut and paste the URL from the last line in the review into your browser to see the close-up.
5/14/04 6:53 AM
PVA said...
Londa, what a beautiful touch! ! ! Thank you for this tip. A member of the ASG chapter in my area gave us a demo of machine embroidery with silk ribbon, but it looked very tedious and stressful. I'm going to your web site to see the close-up. Thank you for this bit of inspiration!
5/13/04 7:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.