SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Easy Tags/Labels

Viewed 5347 times
Posted by: ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJ starstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/19/04 8:56 AM
Last Updated: 12/1/05 3:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
EDITED TO ADD NEW LABEL MEDIUM
I've have since changed the way I make labels and since there are a couple of threads out there right now regarding them, I thought I would edit this tip.

I like putting my own "label" on the garments I make. For various reasons I have not purchased any from online sites. ,(okay mostly price and the fear that as soon as I order 200 labels, I will change my mind about what I want them to look like)
What I do instead is-

Using my "Printmaster" program, I designed the label I wanted in a normal address label template. You can use any template size you want- mine is 2" x 1". and will put about 30 on a page.

Add graphics, text in different fonts etc.

Print on iron-on transfer paper. I usually do a test first on plain paper to make sure the size, font, etc is correct. Iron on paper is not cheap! TIP- remember to print in reverse so that when you iron, any text is not backwards.

HERE IS WHERE I EDITED - I used to use cotton for the labels but they look too home made. Instead- use 1 1/2 inch wide ribbon -I use white. Cut a piece about 2 1/2 inches long. Fold it in half and press well. Cut out a label and iron it on with the bottom edge of the label at the fold- the camera batteries just died so I cannot upload the proper pics *DANG* When you actually do this you will understand.

Voila - customizable clothing tags for a fraction of the cost.

I made different tagsfor my children - ie if I make the same t-shirt in the same size in the same colour for two different girls (don't ask!) I can have labels with their name added along with my usual graphics.

Pics to come later today.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
My DH recently bought t-shirts with the label printed right on the inside back neck, no separate piece of cloth. Has anyone tried this? It doesn't show through, though it is black ink on white fabric.
5/19/04 2:36 PM
Judy Williment said...
What a great idea! I have to try this.
5/19/04 4:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you for a great idea!
5/19/04 6:00 PM
Mel.J said...
Excellent idea - thanks! I can also see this working as a built in 'gift-tag' on presents made for people.
5/19/04 6:31 PM
sewserious1 said...
How well do these hold up in the wash? Does the writing eventually peel? Sounds like just what I am looking for to use for my own labels.
5/20/04 6:26 AM
AnneM said...
Where do you get the iron-on transfer paper? I really like this idea. I'll dido sewserious1's question on the longevity of the transfers. Tahnks.
5/20/04 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
Oh - and do you have to do this backwards for it to iron on correctly?
5/20/04 6:59 AM
ConnieBJ said...
They hold well for me in the wash - they definately do not peel. You can get iron on transfer sheets at your local business supply store - ie Staples in Canada. Yes you have to print in "reverse" - I have that option in my "printmaster" program.
5/20/04 8:05 AM
sissie said...
I love this idea how cleaver I will try this thanks so much
5/21/04 2:20 PM
cookeelady said...
What a neat idea! Thanks, I'd been thinking about making labels for some of the clothing items I make, but didn't have a firm idea of a quick, simple way to get it done--until now!!!! I'll use this one!
5/26/04 8:53 AM
ncegbu said...
Great idea! Another take on this idea is to print the labels directly on the prepared fabric sheets you can get for your ink jet printers. You can also make fabric sheets using BubbleJet Set, cotton muslin, and wax paper. With the fabric sheets you do not have to print the design in reverse and iron on. Just print, cut out & sew!
6/1/04 6:39 PM
TanyaMT said...
Great idea. Ncegbu, where do you buy fabric sheets?
6/19/04 1:00 AM
ncegbu said...
TanyaMT - fabric sheets can usually be found in the notions section of big fabric stores like Jo-Anns or Hancocks marketed under the June Tailor brand.
1/13/05 4:15 PM
Elaray said...
Great Tip! I make my own custom labels this way, but I use wide bias tape instead of ribbon. I think I'll try the ribbon - it's a little classier!!
6/15/06 7:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.