SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > seam-ripping serged seams

Viewed 5696 times
Posted by: AnneM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AnneM starstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/22/04 7:18 PM
Last Updated: 1/6/06 7:02 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was recently faced with undoing some LONG seams that I had serged. After sweating about this for a little, I thought of an easy way to do it. It is easier if you haven't finished the ends, but can be done regardless.

With your seam-ripper, carefully pick out the needle thread(s) from the end of the seam. Note that they will be more accessible from one side than the other. When you have enough to grip, pull the thread out of of your material, as you would when pulling out basting stitches. If the seam is long, cut the needle threads part-way to make it easier. Once this is done, the looper threads easily pull out.

update: I've found in some fabrics the threads don't pull easily. In those cases, I've taken to creating an opening in the seam from the inside, then from the right side I can get to to needle thread(s) and pick them out without simply cutting and leaving lots of thread bits. The looper threads just fall off afterwards. This is slower than being able to pull out the needle thread, but still faster than other methods I've tried.

And yes, I do end up ripping my serged seams that often. :o


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Hey AnnM, this is a real winner! I certainly plan to use this one, since I seem to believe every sewing session calls for at least one episode of "unsewing"! Thanks for this review.
5/22/04 10:36 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Abssolutely positively correct - in serging, it is the needle(s) that hold the looper threads, so pulling the needle thread(s) will indead allow all else to fall off.
5/23/04 7:23 PM
nasfanman said...
What a neat Idea. I'll use this baby for sure.
6/12/04 10:38 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thank you so much for this tip! This afternoon, I was in a hurry to rip a serged seam, and being new to serging this was a first. I came straight here because I remembered seeing your tip before - it worked great!
10/10/04 11:43 AM
Topstitcher said...
This hint looked so easy I just had to try it. I used a test scrap I'd made and cut the needle thread every few inches. Then I could just pull it out and the rest fell apart. This is by far the easiest way to rip a searged seam. Thank you for a great time saver!
1/5/06 8:31 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks so much. I had this issue today and sure enough there was a tip.
8/6/09 11:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.