Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
seam-ripping serged seams (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5551 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Posted by: AnneM
photo
Friend of PR
About AnneM starstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/22/04 7:18 PM
Last Updated: 1/6/06 7:02 AM
Featured in the PR book!
I was recently faced with undoing some LONG seams that I had serged. After sweating about this for a little, I thought of an easy way to do it. It is easier if you haven't finished the ends, but can be done regardless.

With your seam-ripper, carefully pick out the needle thread(s) from the end of the seam. Note that they will be more accessible from one side than the other. When you have enough to grip, pull the thread out of of your material, as you would when pulling out basting stitches. If the seam is long, cut the needle threads part-way to make it easier. Once this is done, the looper threads easily pull out.

update: I've found in some fabrics the threads don't pull easily. In those cases, I've taken to creating an opening in the seam from the inside, then from the right side I can get to to needle thread(s) and pick them out without simply cutting and leaving lots of thread bits. The looper threads just fall off afterwards. This is slower than being able to pull out the needle thread, but still faster than other methods I've tried.

And yes, I do end up ripping my serged seams that often. :o

Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Hey AnnM, this is a real winner! I certainly plan to use this one, since I seem to believe every sewing session calls for at least one episode of "unsewing"! Thanks for this review.
5/22/04 10:36 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Abssolutely positively correct - in serging, it is the needle(s) that hold the looper threads, so pulling the needle thread(s) will indead allow all else to fall off.
5/23/04 7:23 PM
nasfanman said...
What a neat Idea. I'll use this baby for sure.
6/12/04 10:38 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thank you so much for this tip! This afternoon, I was in a hurry to rip a serged seam, and being new to serging this was a first. I came straight here because I remembered seeing your tip before - it worked great!
10/10/04 11:43 AM
Topstitcher said...
This hint looked so easy I just had to try it. I used a test scrap I'd made and cut the needle thread every few inches. Then I could just pull it out and the rest fell apart. This is by far the easiest way to rip a searged seam. Thank you for a great time saver!
1/5/06 8:31 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks so much. I had this issue today and sure enough there was a tip.
8/6/09 11:26 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us