SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Tight armholes?

Viewed 5988 times
Posted by: stitchit
photo

 
 
About stitchit star
BC CANADA
Member since: 4/30/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/27/04 2:39 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
If your pattern fits well at neck and shoulder width and the armholes are too tight, the problem is a "square shoulder". Measure your back from center back waist diagonally to shoulder point and compare that measurement to pattern measured from center back diagonally to shoulder point and the difference will be the amount you have to add to the pattern at shoulder point starting with nothing at neck. I always have to add 1/2" to my patterns but am presently fitting a client and have to add 1 1/2" to her back shoulder point of pattern. You must add the same amount to top of sleeve cap.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
stitchit said...
Sorry for spelling error I made on second word. should read "your"
5/27/04 2:43 AM
AnneM said...
So you add that to the pattern length at the shoulder, w/ a sloping line in to the neck?
5/27/04 3:25 PM
Ingiepops said...
I have this problem myself as I often find the armholes are too small. So you don't add anything underneath the arm, just adjust the shoulder seam?
5/28/04 0:32 AM
stitchit said...
Yes AnneM, just add to shoulder width with a sloping line. Ingiepops: No, do not add anything underneath the arm., just adjust the shoulder seam. Please let me know how you made out. stitchit
5/28/04 0:51 AM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks, I tried it on a dress pattern that was way too tight in the armholes, and it now fits a lot better! I will definitely be using this technique in future.
5/31/04 1:08 AM
greysome said...
In reading this I would think I will end up with a dropped shoulder and longer sleeve. I'm confused.
8/28/04 9:43 AM
stitchit said...
greysome! You only add the necessary amount to the height at the shoulder point and it will not affect the sleeve length and the shoulder width remains the same. This is a square shoulder alteraton.
8/29/04 3:15 PM
tsm said...
This sounds like a problem that I'm having with Vogue 2720. My question is do you thing this will work on a dress with a back princess seam.
7/21/05 4:11 PM
regine said...
Sorry if this sounds stupid but why can't you just cut the armhole a bit bigger under the arm?
9/28/05 11:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.