SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fabric Bowl interfacing update

Viewed 5436 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/28/04 9:15 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I bought some Pellon Craft FuseŽ to try inside fabric bowls, and it works wonderfully. This is heavy fusible interfacing that is 44 inches wide, and only costs $2.44 per yard at Walmart. I fused a piece to each piece of fabric, then used either glue stick, or fusible web to stick the two pieces together. Two layers of this Pellon are enough to make the bowls sturdy, and makes the smoothest fabric yet, when the bowl is finished. I made a 14 inch round scalloped bowl from satin, and it turned out so shiny, without a speck of wrinkles or rumples. The fact that this is 44 inches wide makes it a real bargain. [Help! I can't stop making these bowls! lol]
p.s. also great for fabric purses and their linings.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
This is a really great idea! Thanks for sharing it. (I love this site! 8^D)
5/28/04 10:23 AM
Georgene said...
Have you tried the Timtex interfacing/stiffener? Although it is half the width and waaay more expensive, I'm wondering how the effect compares.
5/28/04 10:31 AM
Susan Parker said...
The Timtex is nice stuff and it isn't cheap. I did a hand bag and wound up using 3 layers of that heavy duty, non-woven interfacing you find at the Hancock/Joanns of the world. It has a different feel than the Timtex but it is holding up nicely. It is way better than buckram..... ;D
5/29/04 0:10 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Georgene...no, I haven't tried the Timtex. I probably never will, since this stuff works so perfectly. I've seen photos online of these bowls made with Timtex, and they had that rumpled look [especially in a round bowl], which I think looks inferior.
5/29/04 6:51 AM
sissie said...
Hello Sewverytall, want is a fabric bowl and how do I learn more about them? is there a picture I can look at thank you
6/6/04 8:31 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Sissie--all the info you could want, including web addresses to view these bowls, is right here. Just check under tips/techniques around April 20, 2004. There are 3 tips with my name on them. Have fun!
6/7/04 6:12 AM
ncegbu said...
SewVeryTall, I'm wondering how the Craft Fuse holds up to washing and pressing? Any thoughts? And, if you aren't washing and pressing the bowls, do you scotchguard them to protect them from staining?
7/15/04 4:47 PM
SewVeryTall said...
ncegbu...these are still so new, I haven't had to wash one yet, but I bet they will wash just fine. The Craft Fuse is Pellon, just like we use in garments, only heavier. They may need to have wrinkles pressed out after washing, but that shouldn't be any problem either...the iron just makes everything stick together better. I pressed all of mine upon completion, just to 'set the stitching' and make them look perfect. I'm tempted to Scotchguard, but I haven't yet...it couldn't hurt, depending on what you're putting in your bowls.
7/16/04 5:28 PM
rande said...
There is a site that sells Stiffy for a dollar a yard. I was happy with my order.
5/29/07 8:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.