SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing Patterns w/Medical Exam Paper

Viewed 5450 times
Posted by: cynthia w
photo

 
 
About cynthia w star
UT USA
Member since: 9/16/03
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/28/04 5:50 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For tracing patterns I have discovered a cheap tracing paper.

I go to the medical supply store in town and by the paper that medical offices use to cover the exam tables. It's about 21" wide so it's wide enough for most patterns. It's also pretty transparent so I lay my original pattern underneath the exam paper and then trace the lines. It's fast, it's easy, it's cheap. Maybe $5 bucks for a HUGE roll that lasts forever. I've had my roll at least a year and it's only half gone and I do use it quite a bit.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
I just found my source: http://www.bmlbasic.com/dispexamtab.htm. Also, there's an interesting discussion of the subject at http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard/ikonboard.pl?s=41557cc57c1effff;act=ST;f=6;t=1780;st=20.
9/25/04 9:21 AM
JDpenelope said...
I've used the painting plastic and it has it's advantages, but I've come to prefer the medical exam paper. The plastic is transparent (easier on aging eyes) and it prevents all bleeding through from your sharpie. The exam paper is easier for me to handle, cut, fold up, and store and it doesn't stretch. Cynthia, do you have an online source? Can't find mine right now--need to re-order.
9/25/04 9:11 AM
boots777 said...
That is a reallyhelpful idea. Thanks.
9/22/04 4:59 PM
nasfanman said...
Great Idea. Another use. My granddaughter loves drawing and traceing. She'll love this.
6/12/04 10:54 PM
cynthia w said...
Sew Twin--love the option for using plastic too. More expensive though?
6/3/04 6:26 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have heard of this before but wondered where I would buy. There is a medical supply place in town, so will check it out.
5/29/04 2:33 PM
SewTwin said...
Cynthia, I like this idea, but I also someone else's tip of using painting plastic from the Hardware store, and that worked also.It is very wide, and used the .4ml the first time, but should have spent more, and gotten the .6ml. The main reason I also like this is that the plastic is totally transparent.They are both a vast improvement on the tracing tissue you buy, and the bonus is you have more money for the glorious stash!
5/29/04 2:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.