SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fusible thread in lowerlooper of serger

Viewed 5633 times
Posted by: Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirl starstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 198
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/31/04 4:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 35 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Not sure where I learned of this use of fusible thread in the lower looper and checked in this tip section thinking I read it here but did not find it. Thus decided to post my recent experience with this.

I made the Santa Monica Tee today and decided to follow the instructions with the pattern of serging the edge then turning under. My past experience with this has not always been very good. Sometimes the knit stays in place well enough to topstitch or even coverstitch. Most times not. I normally use Steam a Seam but that can be a pain sometime to try to make a straight tape bend around a curve and stay until you iron/fuse it.

I have had Fusible Thread for awhile so decided to use in the bottom looper of the serger and serge finish the neck, sleeve and hem of the top as instructed. I then turned under and pinned the hem. I then fused with the iron. It worked great and held the fabric well enough to topstitch it.

I think this will work with other fabrics as well as a nice way to fuse in place before top or coverstitching. If experienced enough in turning and pressing, you can probably eliminate the pinning part.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
what a great idea!
5/31/04 9:05 PM
AnneM said...
I don't have any experience w/ fusible thread. If you use the fusible thread, will the serged edge still prevent fraying?
6/1/04 6:35 AM
Liane M said...
Someone told me about this idea at a sewing class recently. It is now what I use instead of Stream A Seam. This is a great technique. It doesn't leave any stiffness in the fabric like SAS will sometimes do. The only trouble is it takes a heat and pressure to get it to fuse and some knits wont take that much heat.
6/1/04 6:56 AM
sissie said...
Thanks Linda I will try this!
6/1/04 8:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks Liane for the info regarding some knits. I will keep that in mind. The knit I tried this on was buttermilk knit and did very well. I can imagine that some knits could not stand the heat.
6/2/04 5:51 AM
drsue said...
This seems like a great idea. I will definetly give it a try.
7/24/04 10:13 AM
Lyndi Lou said...
Thanks, LL, am new w/ using serger & I appreciate your tip! Have been sewing for a very long time, and am anxious to use your tip. Keep sharing your "finds" /Linda Lou
6/11/07 12:37 PM
DiosaSpiralis said...
Hi Linda ~ I'm doing this right now, but I'm having trouble with the tension settings, can't seem to get it even. Now my thread just broke twice. Any tips?
3/22/09 5:18 PM
missusprim said...
I will certainly try this tip, and am hoping I can find this thread in my local fab store. I used it many years ago for my children's clothes for hemming assistance but never in either my serger or my sewing machine. Thanks for the tip!
11/13/10 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.