SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > finger easing

Viewed 5170 times
Posted by: Jennifer shaw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jennifer shaw starstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/6/04 6:18 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Featured in the PR book!
It has been in many different books - I remember it from a Nancy Zieman book -"Busy Woman's Sewing Book" page 16.
...Stitch at 1/2 " from edge of fabric, with a basting stitch. press your index finger against the back of the pressure foot, lifting finger after 2-3" and repeat...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip! This really works...I've used it on sleeve caps ever since I saw Nancy do it on her tv show. The length of the stitch really depends on the weight of the fabric...longer stitch for heavier fabric, more normal stitch for lighter fabric.
6/7/04 6:26 AM
vikanderson said...
Here's a few dumb questions... I guess you would do this on just the piece to be ease first, right? and then put it together with the matching piece to sew? What if you need it eased more than this technique does? Would a longer stitch ease more, or would you go over it again with the same technique?
6/7/04 8:54 AM
SewVeryTall said...
vikanderson...since I saw your questions first, I'll answer. Yes, you do the easing on a single layer of fabric, like the cap of a sleeve before you set it in, or the top of a skirt before attaching it to the waistband. Most times, if it's not the right amount of ease, it's too much. In this case, you can clip the threads in a few places to let some easing out. If it actually happened that you needed more easing, you could use a pin, slip it under the thread in a few places, and pull on it, to help gather the fabric more. I've never tried putting it through the machine again, but I suppose you could. Lengthening the stitch and/or pushing on the fabric behind the pressure foot more, would make more easing. One thing you can do to really let you know, is try it on a scrap of leftover fabric first. Hope this helps :)
6/8/04 7:08 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Vikanderson - I think it is so much easier than the old two rows of basting stitches- especially for set in sleeves. I used to hate sewing set in sleeves for years, before I learned this trick! Thanks Sew VeryTall, for answering Vikanderson's question. You are a peach.
6/8/04 7:22 PM
vikanderson said...
Thanks I will DEFINITELY try this! I, too, have hated easing and actually have been meaning to ask this Board for some easier ways. This sounds great!
6/10/04 8:13 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're both welcome :)
6/11/04 7:46 AM
cynthia w said...
i have a shirt i am working now that i am gong to try this technique on. i too HATE easing sleeves with the normal two rows of basting stitches.
7/8/04 1:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.