SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > 3/4" wooden dowel--pressing aid

Viewed 5364 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/8/04 8:13 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
I keep a 3/4 inch diameter wooden dowel by my ironing board to help in pressing seams open. The first seam of the leg on pants is easy to press open, but the second seam, that closes the leg, is the one to use the dowel. Just slip the dowel into the leg, line up the seam, and press on top of the dowel. Also children's sleeve seams, or anything too small to press easily, without adding unwanted creases.
This dowel is also good for pressing any seam open that the edge of the fabric could leave an impression on the right side of the fabric. Since the dowel is round, your iron never pushes down on the fabric edges of the seam.
Very inexpensive tool that works great. I bought mine at Walmart. I originally thought I'd cover it with batting and cotton fabric to pad it a little, but found that wasn't necessary.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
Great idea! Its going on my hardware store list. I find I use all my different pressing tools, and this will fill a gap.
6/8/04 5:44 PM
mezzobean said...
I've always used the edge of a steel ruler for this purpose, but like the idea of the dowel even better - I'm going to go down to the basement and fish one out right now!
6/9/04 7:04 AM
KMangum said...
Somewhere, in some book i read, they recommend a piece of wooden handrail, with it's rounded top and flat bottom!
6/9/04 5:10 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Kmagnum...and two corners to catch on the fabric! How is that working for you?
6/10/04 5:43 AM
Lizzy said...
This is such a great,simple, inexpensive tool. I read about the handrail, too -lonf time ago & I can't remember why I didn't like it. I used 2 lenghts of 1/4 round moulding glued together to make a half circle, then ironed fusible fleece onto it followed by a fusible cotton interfacing. Works great & I really do use it a lot.
6/11/04 8:03 PM
BeckyW said...
This is an awesome tip!!!! I read it a couple of weeks ago and it was percolating in my mind. I just finished making NewLook 6195 for my DD. It is a halter sundress. I was fussing over turning and pressing the straps. I remembered your tip and stole my 3/4"dowel from my smocking pleater. I use it to roll garments on to feed into the pleater. It worked just perfectly. I am a stickler for pressing when sewing. Thanks so much for taking the time to post the tip.
5/23/05 9:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.