SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Water soluble stabilzer for hemming knits

Viewed 5174 times
Posted by: Liane M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Liane M star
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/11/04 9:47 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
The coverstitch hems on my stretchy knit tee shirts have been coming out really wavy. I decided to cut strips of water soluble stabilizer and place under the fabric when using the coverstitch hem. Then I throw in the washer and Voila!! great even hems.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Anna Maria said...
Good idea, I'll try it on a 4 inch hem I"m putting in Lose Hinse's cowl t-shirt
6/11/04 1:26 PM
PVA said...
Cool! Thanks for this tip. I can use it!
6/11/04 3:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Now why have I never thought about this. Great idea and makes logical sense to me. Thank you!
6/12/04 6:49 AM
nasfanman said...
You gals have some neat tricks you pass along. Question: Does anyone know what would be best to use in the high collar of an "Elvis" suit. I've tryed stiffing material but the best I could get was not really stiff enough. After a very short time it no longer held up the collar. I tryed doubling the material. when I sewed it together in layers it puckered up. That's no good. I tryed bending it into a curve as I sewed. worked better but still had some wrinkle to it. I make my own suits and perform for free at nursing homes. I don't look like Elvis, don't sound like him, but they love the hr and 10 min show. I put scarfs I make around EVERYONES neck. Come near my show - you get a scarf. I only do nursing homes. When they grab hold of me and say God bless you, with tears in their eyes - It keep me going. I'M 71. If you know someone in a nursing home, PLEASE - visit them as often as you can. YOUR life will be better for it. Thanks you - Thank you very much. nasfanman
6/12/04 10:25 PM
SewTwin said...
Thanks for the tip! I am going to be sewing on sheers, and silkys and will really use this tip! **For Nasfanman--You are really right about the nursing homes.Wish the Feds would give us tax breaks, and we would all be complelled to help at daycares, nursing homes, shelters, and orphanages.But I was going to suggest something used as a backing for Flower Pins made out of Ribbon, it is called Crinoline. In the Victorian days they used it in the balooned out slips.It would probably be too thick to sew through.I would only use it to hold the curve you need.Even better, is boning women use on bustiers, in case you don't know that is lingerie that holds up the woman's bust. My husband didn't know, leaves that stuff to me. The good news nowadays it is plastic, not metal stays like they used to be! I think you could probably find it online cheaper and easier than searching in the stores. I think Gigi had several articles she made, and one had a bustier.Basically you make a tube where you want the boning to go.It may end up with your having to cut it at the corners.I have seen this used in some wicked witch costumes for the big standing collar.Sorry,not really Elivsy,but same idea!Hope this helps,God Bless,and Good Luck in your endeavors!
6/14/04 2:48 AM
PattyU said...
Liane, thanks for the tip. Nasfanman, I don't know the answer to your question, but you should ask it on the message board. I think you may get more responses. There are regulars on the board who know a lot about all knids of sewing related things.
6/14/04 8:43 AM
cynthia w said...
water soluble stabilizer is my favorite notion for just this sort of thing--plus rolled hems on a serger for fine fabrics. prevents the serger from eating the fabric or from leaving "whiskers".
6/14/04 10:49 AM
nasfanman said...
Thanks Patty U. I don't know where I'm at on this site. I guess I know LESS about computers than I know about sewing. Have you heard the saying "A little knowledge is Dangerous"? I'm about as "DANGEROUS" as you can get, on both accouints. Thanks and - check you later.
6/28/04 1:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.