SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > embroidery thread for top stitching

Viewed 5434 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/13/04 6:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is a tip I learned from a Claire Shaefer pattern from Vogue. Use top quality embroidery thread for your top stitching, including button holes. It makes an amazing difference. I used to use regular thread and a triple stitch (on my bernina) to get the top stitching to show up, but this is not necessary if you use good thread.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
This is a very interesting tip, and I want to try it because I think topstitching can make or break the look of a garment. However, I'm only familiar with one brand of embroidery thread, and that's DMC. What do you consider top quality embroidery thread, and where do you get it?
11/11/06 7:36 AM
Diana M said...
Great idea; thanks for sharing it!
7/9/04 1:46 AM
ImSewMom said...
Good tip. I've used embroidery thread on buttonhole for my kids' smocked dresses and I like it very much.
6/26/04 9:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have recently done this with two tops that I made. They were both made from the same white polyester knit. On one I put a piece of embroidery on each flounced short sleeve and then used embroidery thread to match for topstitching around the neckline. It looks great. Love this idea.
6/15/04 9:23 AM
Zimbo said...
Thank you. Must remember the next time, havn't thought about if before.
6/14/04 1:39 PM
candyo said...
Thank you!! My next project might involve topstitching if I get brave, if so I'll use your tip.
6/14/04 2:53 AM
PVA said...
Thank you, drsue for reminding me about that. I did it a few times many years ago, then kind of forgot about it. It would have been a nice touch on a top I just finished. Oh well, move on!
6/13/04 8:38 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the tip!
6/13/04 7:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.