SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > embroidery thread for top stitching

Viewed 5360 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/13/04 6:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is a tip I learned from a Claire Shaefer pattern from Vogue. Use top quality embroidery thread for your top stitching, including button holes. It makes an amazing difference. I used to use regular thread and a triple stitch (on my bernina) to get the top stitching to show up, but this is not necessary if you use good thread.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the tip!
6/13/04 7:22 PM
PVA said...
Thank you, drsue for reminding me about that. I did it a few times many years ago, then kind of forgot about it. It would have been a nice touch on a top I just finished. Oh well, move on!
6/13/04 8:38 PM
candyo said...
Thank you!! My next project might involve topstitching if I get brave, if so I'll use your tip.
6/14/04 2:53 AM
Zimbo said...
Thank you. Must remember the next time, havn't thought about if before.
6/14/04 1:39 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have recently done this with two tops that I made. They were both made from the same white polyester knit. On one I put a piece of embroidery on each flounced short sleeve and then used embroidery thread to match for topstitching around the neckline. It looks great. Love this idea.
6/15/04 9:23 AM
ImSewMom said...
Good tip. I've used embroidery thread on buttonhole for my kids' smocked dresses and I like it very much.
6/26/04 9:40 AM
Diana M said...
Great idea; thanks for sharing it!
7/9/04 1:46 AM
OP Gal said...
This is a very interesting tip, and I want to try it because I think topstitching can make or break the look of a garment. However, I'm only familiar with one brand of embroidery thread, and that's DMC. What do you consider top quality embroidery thread, and where do you get it?
11/11/06 7:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.