SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > embroidery thread for top stitching

Viewed 5461 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/13/04 6:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is a tip I learned from a Claire Shaefer pattern from Vogue. Use top quality embroidery thread for your top stitching, including button holes. It makes an amazing difference. I used to use regular thread and a triple stitch (on my bernina) to get the top stitching to show up, but this is not necessary if you use good thread.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
This is a very interesting tip, and I want to try it because I think topstitching can make or break the look of a garment. However, I'm only familiar with one brand of embroidery thread, and that's DMC. What do you consider top quality embroidery thread, and where do you get it?
11/11/06 7:36 AM
Diana M said...
Great idea; thanks for sharing it!
7/9/04 1:46 AM
ImSewMom said...
Good tip. I've used embroidery thread on buttonhole for my kids' smocked dresses and I like it very much.
6/26/04 9:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have recently done this with two tops that I made. They were both made from the same white polyester knit. On one I put a piece of embroidery on each flounced short sleeve and then used embroidery thread to match for topstitching around the neckline. It looks great. Love this idea.
6/15/04 9:23 AM
Zimbo said...
Thank you. Must remember the next time, havn't thought about if before.
6/14/04 1:39 PM
candyo said...
Thank you!! My next project might involve topstitching if I get brave, if so I'll use your tip.
6/14/04 2:53 AM
PVA said...
Thank you, drsue for reminding me about that. I did it a few times many years ago, then kind of forgot about it. It would have been a nice touch on a top I just finished. Oh well, move on!
6/13/04 8:38 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the tip!
6/13/04 7:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.