SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > not your ordinary t shirt

California, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5358 times
Posted by: CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGal star
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/13/04 10:08 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This was a wonderful online class taught by Heather Claus that starts with a basic t shirt (must have a bust dart). You can see sample lessons and line drawings on the class website. Its not just for knits, as Heather explains how to modify for knits and wovens.

Class lessons were posted on a daily basis, and we had a newsgroup for comments and questions. The first lessons were about getting a good fit, also construction tips. Then lessons on pattern modification were posted. We had to take a week break so we could get our fit down pat.

The class repeats periodically, and you can take as many times as you wish, many in the class were repeat students.

11 modifications were presented: cowl neck, twist front, shirred bust at side and shirred bust center, drape front, crossover back, knot front, sunburst front, shirred sleeves. My shirts are here:
http://share.shutterfly.com/osi.jsp?i=EeCOGzFq3atGF8
t-shirts
I really enjoyed taking this class, I was busy drafting and sewing shirts! I finally finished the last one, even though the class has been over for a couple weeks. Whew! Time to make some pants & skirts.

This is a fun introduction to pattern modification and design, and gives great tips on construction. Highly reccomended!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
TanyaMT said...
This site looks like they have great classes. Thanks for the review. I bookmarked it.
6/13/04 11:08 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Thanks for the review, I would have never known about this. All of her classes sound very interesting. HC has an amazing eye for details.
6/14/04 7:29 AM
PixieCat said...
Thanks! I plan to take a few and have bookmarked the page.
6/14/04 4:23 PM
Meredith P said...
Thanks for the review of this class. Did you mean to post a link to photos of your shirts? I'd love to see them.
6/14/04 5:15 PM
CycleGal said...
Hi...I tried to post a link to my shirts, see if this works. Shutterfly keeps turning my photo on its side.....I'm on my way to Olympic trials (cycling of course) and will fool with it more when I get back!
6/15/04 9:29 AM
Mick said...
Wow, CycleGal, am I glad you did this review!! I'm always on the hunt for classes. Thanks much!! Also, I noticed you're in my area (Bay Area, I'm in Oakland). Do you know of any local, in-person classes?
6/16/04 11:49 AM
CycleGal said...
Hi Mick, there are lots of great classes in our area, stonemountain and daughter fabrics has a lot, as well as the sewing workshop. I also will be taking classes at Canada College this fall. Look at my review for the serger workout for the sewing workshop web site.
6/18/04 11:52 AM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for reviewing this. It starts again at the end of March - might sign up for this!!!
3/1/05 3:09 PM
christe said...
This review makes me want to take the class.
3/2/05 8:06 PM
Nancy Peters said...
I am glad you made it through the class. It seems as though Heather now starts her classes and leaves you hanging. I signed up for the Style Upgrade class and she has left all of us hanging since late August. I guess what really upsets me is she is still advertising new couses. I just thought I would add this in case anyone is considering taking any of her couses. Check out Laurie Em's review of her online class as the same experience all of us at Style Upgrade are having.
10/12/06 3:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.