SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > making your own labels

Viewed 5156 times
Posted by: Dzzzyd
photo

 
 
About Dzzzyd
OR USA
Member since: 6/15/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/22/04 6:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
I liked the tip on making your own labels using your computer. Instead of buying the paper backed fabric (so spendy) I made my own. Cut a piece of muslin or other light-weight fabric to the size of computer paper. Now using a hot Iron to press a piece of plastic coated freezer paper onto the fabric. Trim around the paper to the size of fabric. Prints great. Just peel the paper off before using.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Would love to see a photo of your labels. I have been toying with the idea of making labels. Did you pre-wash your fabric, or is it best to leave the sizing in?
6/22/04 10:10 PM
PVA said...
Great tip! Thanks for that one -- it is certainly a useful frugal way to beat the high cost of printing on fabric!
6/23/04 0:14 AM
Josephine said...
What a great idea! Do you have to use something like Bubble Jet Set to set the ink, or do you have another method?
6/23/04 0:57 AM
PixieCat said...
Thanks for the tip! I'm planning a photo quilt and will try this method.
6/23/04 4:17 AM
AlmaJoly said...
Great idea. How did you finish the edges of the label when you put it in your garment?
6/23/04 7:06 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for this great tip!
6/23/04 5:54 PM
LSBCATS3 said...
Neat idea!
6/23/04 9:31 PM
ImSewMom said...
What a great I idea! Can't wait to try it.
6/26/04 9:22 AM
Sew it seams said...
This is a great idea! I have no idea what type of ink would be used for this. Can you use your regular printer?
6/28/04 9:27 AM
Dzzzyd said...
Well-- I only pinked the fabric when cutting. I didn't pre-wash it. I have washed them after printing and applying, so far haven't faded away. I'm sure there are some better ways of doing things. Mine are just very simple.
6/30/04 5:07 PM
cold said...
I JUST LOVED YOUR IDEAL ON MAKING LABEL. I WILL BEING MAKING LAP SCARP FOR THE CHURCH AND THIS WILL COME IN HANDY BECAUSE I WAS WONDERING HOW I WOULD PUT MY ON NAME ON THEM.
7/7/04 9:06 PM
Dzzzyd said...
I have found out that if you do them in color you should soak fabric first in Bubble Jet set. This can be found at some Office Depot stores or on the internet.
9/11/04 4:55 PM
Tonyasrb said...
Great tip! I've never heard of this.
3/24/09 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.