SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Best way to butt elastic for waistbands

Viewed 5227 times
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/6/04 2:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I just finished up a new batch of swimsuits for my daughters, and I have finally fine-tuned this process.

1) Take a small piece of tear-away stabilizer or piece of newsprint

2) Spray with either temporary or permanent spray adhesive (does not matter which one)

3) Stick the butted ends of the elastic to onto the stabilizer or newsprint.

4) Stitch a multi-stitch or regular zigzag across the butted ends. A multi-stitch zigzag is stronger if you can do it on your machine.

5) Pull off the stabilizer and trim the threads

The ends of the elastic are now perfectly aligned, and much less bulky for insertion into a waistband or swimsuit.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
sounds like a good idea? How old is the oldest garment you have made using this technique?
7/6/04 8:58 PM
AnneM said...
That sounds easier than just zigzagging while holding the elastic, which is what I did last time around. Where do you get the spray adhesive; I don't recall seeing that.
7/7/04 4:35 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I agree, butting the elastic is better and less bulky. I usually just pin a scrap of thin fabric underneath to hold the ends together, zigzag the elastic edges together, wrap the fabric around both ways to cover rough elastic edges, then zigzag over all. Trim excess fabric away. I've been doing this for years and years, and it's never pulled out. AnneM--I got my spray adhesive at Joann's. This spray is handy to have, but I have to add...it's like spray paint, in that it's stinky, [should be used in ventilated area or outside], the area behind where you're spraying it needs to be protected, AND the valve needs to be cleared by holding the can upsidedown while spraying. Bottom line, IMHO, this spray should be used outdoors.
7/7/04 5:31 AM
PhyllisC said...
Sue - hah - not old at all! My kids swim suits have been getting intense daily use this summer, and it's fine so far.
7/7/04 8:47 AM
PVA said...
I've used the method in Sew Very Tall's comment and i really like it, but I will definitely try this. I use ALL sprays with the item I intend to spray in a cardboard box. Outside is good -- I have a very protected patio, open on only two sides. Thanks for this, I'm going to try it.
7/7/04 2:48 PM
Wandasews said...
Thanks- this is a great help.
7/7/04 8:33 PM
Diana M said...
Great idea -- Thanks!
7/11/04 1:11 PM
GNBx3 said...
As a beginner sewer, I appreciate these kinds of helpful tips. Thanks, Barbara
9/4/04 9:58 AM
boots777 said...
Original idea!
9/22/04 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.