SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > 2 is better than 1!

Viewed 5221 times
Posted by: Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy! starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/10/04 7:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
As often as I use seam rippers, I only had one of them. I had to buy another one when it unknowingly to me took a dive into my elastic bag next to my machine and was AWOL for a few days. I thought it had fallen into my wastebasket on the other side of the machine and was a goner.

In any case, having two has been very handy - especially lately! ;)

For about a dollar, why not make it easier on yourself and have a couple ready and waiting. Frustration is high enough when you have to unsew. . .

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Peters said...
Loved all the comments. I too have multiples of everything including readers (glasses for the not-yet-old-and-sight-impaired) The only trouble is, they all seem to end up in the same place. All will be next to the serger, or on the ironing board, or in the bathroom. Well...
11/6/04 10:35 PM
whit said...
The really cool thing about seam ripping is - it's like everything else. Practice makes perfect. And I'm gettin' really good at it.
9/21/04 11:58 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I am also - to use Gigi's term - "creative". I have created amazing ways to lose things like seam rippers. When my local store has their semi-annual 40% off everything sale, I stock up on fresh new seam rippers, hem gauges, water-soluble markers - all the things I lose on a daily basis. WHAT is wrong with me? Maybe that's why I had a second child...in case I misplaced the first one...
7/15/04 8:50 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
It's true -- you don't realize how dull your ripper has become until you get a new one. How many of us have stabbed our fingers when the ripper slipped trying to push through? :P I may just start replacing them more often. Ha, ha - LOVE the "Jack" comment!
7/15/04 9:00 AM
Judy Williment said...
I'm off to buy another one. My original took a dive into the small bin I keep on my sewing desk for thread snippets and such and ripping without it till I could buy another one the next day was painful. What was embarrassing was how much sharper and better the new one was than my original. Then I remembered that it had come in the tool kit with my brand new sewing machine - 20 years ago!
7/14/04 8:50 PM
Elaine Penney said...
I have a large family of Jack's - as I call all my rippers! Couldn't live without them.
7/11/04 2:38 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Being very creative (translation: disorganized) I have multiples of nearly everything. That way when I misplace something I can continue on my merry way. I have a magnetic pin cushion at every machine too - it helps keep me from tossing them on the floor.
7/11/04 1:54 PM
Sew it seams said...
Several years ago, a friend and I split an order of 100 seam rippers. I don't remember the cost, but remember it was a great deal. I have about 5 left, but it sure is wonderful to use a brand new one on very delicate items or heavy jeans, etc. I think it must have been about 6 or 7 years ago!
7/11/04 1:47 PM
Diana M said...
Agree wholeheartedly! I keep two magnetic pin holders -- one next to the machine, one on the cutting table, and rotate when the cutting table one gets empty.
7/11/04 1:08 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Oh - and I have more than one seam ripper also. I strongly agree with this hint!
7/11/04 0:29 AM
Mandolin82 said...
One hint I read somewhere (here maybe) was to develope the attitute that seam ripping is an expected part of the sewing process. I find it much less stressful since I started thinking of it that way. Maybe some sewers don't rip, but I sure do!!
7/11/04 0:28 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're scaring the beginner sewers! [Advanced sewers need seam rippers "often"?] LOL
7/10/04 11:44 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Good hint! Although I try to stay fairly organized in my sewing room, it's wonderful to have more than 1 from time to time. I must have 3-4 basic seam gauges and having multiples is great when at the ironing board pressing up various seam allowances.
7/10/04 11:26 PM
drsue said...
Yes, I've managed to buy several of my favorite inexpensive notions. Only problem is it takes all the pressure of to maintain some disicpline in terms of putting stuff away. I know I have a seam ripper and a hem gauge in every nook in my house!
7/10/04 7:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.