Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
2 is better than 1! (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5098 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Posted by: Oopsy-Daisy!
photo
About Oopsy-Daisy! starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/10/04 7:32 PM
As often as I use seam rippers, I only had one of them. I had to buy another one when it unknowingly to me took a dive into my elastic bag next to my machine and was AWOL for a few days. I thought it had fallen into my wastebasket on the other side of the machine and was a goner.

In any case, having two has been very handy - especially lately! ;)

For about a dollar, why not make it easier on yourself and have a couple ready and waiting. Frustration is high enough when you have to unsew. . .
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Yes, I've managed to buy several of my favorite inexpensive notions. Only problem is it takes all the pressure of to maintain some disicpline in terms of putting stuff away. I know I have a seam ripper and a hem gauge in every nook in my house!
7/10/04 7:42 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Good hint! Although I try to stay fairly organized in my sewing room, it's wonderful to have more than 1 from time to time. I must have 3-4 basic seam gauges and having multiples is great when at the ironing board pressing up various seam allowances.
7/10/04 11:26 PM
SewVeryTall said...
You're scaring the beginner sewers! [Advanced sewers need seam rippers "often"?] LOL
7/10/04 11:44 PM
Mandolin82 said...
One hint I read somewhere (here maybe) was to develope the attitute that seam ripping is an expected part of the sewing process. I find it much less stressful since I started thinking of it that way. Maybe some sewers don't rip, but I sure do!!
7/11/04 0:28 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Oh - and I have more than one seam ripper also. I strongly agree with this hint!
7/11/04 0:29 AM
Diana M said...
Agree wholeheartedly! I keep two magnetic pin holders -- one next to the machine, one on the cutting table, and rotate when the cutting table one gets empty.
7/11/04 1:08 PM
Sew it seams said...
Several years ago, a friend and I split an order of 100 seam rippers. I don't remember the cost, but remember it was a great deal. I have about 5 left, but it sure is wonderful to use a brand new one on very delicate items or heavy jeans, etc. I think it must have been about 6 or 7 years ago!
7/11/04 1:47 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Being very creative (translation: disorganized) I have multiples of nearly everything. That way when I misplace something I can continue on my merry way. I have a magnetic pin cushion at every machine too - it helps keep me from tossing them on the floor.
7/11/04 1:54 PM
Elaine Penney said...
I have a large family of Jack's - as I call all my rippers! Couldn't live without them.
7/11/04 2:38 PM
Judy Williment said...
I'm off to buy another one. My original took a dive into the small bin I keep on my sewing desk for thread snippets and such and ripping without it till I could buy another one the next day was painful. What was embarrassing was how much sharper and better the new one was than my original. Then I remembered that it had come in the tool kit with my brand new sewing machine - 20 years ago!
7/14/04 8:50 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
It's true -- you don't realize how dull your ripper has become until you get a new one. How many of us have stabbed our fingers when the ripper slipped trying to push through? :P I may just start replacing them more often. Ha, ha - LOVE the "Jack" comment!
7/15/04 9:00 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I am also - to use Gigi's term - "creative". I have created amazing ways to lose things like seam rippers. When my local store has their semi-annual 40% off everything sale, I stock up on fresh new seam rippers, hem gauges, water-soluble markers - all the things I lose on a daily basis. WHAT is wrong with me? Maybe that's why I had a second child...in case I misplaced the first one...
7/15/04 8:50 PM
whit said...
The really cool thing about seam ripping is - it's like everything else. Practice makes perfect. And I'm gettin' really good at it.
9/21/04 11:58 PM
Nancy Peters said...
Loved all the comments. I too have multiples of everything including readers (glasses for the not-yet-old-and-sight-impaired) The only trouble is, they all seem to end up in the same place. All will be next to the serger, or on the ironing board, or in the bathroom. Well...
11/6/04 10:35 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us