SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Adding a Tag to Finished Garments

Viewed 5259 times
Posted by: Maria Hatfield
photo

 
 
About Maria Hatfield star
OK USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/2/02 6:31 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Featured in the PR book!
ok, sorry i needed to edit this whole box. the other explanation sounded crazy. but what i was trying to say was i was using a piece of muslin to mark my finished clothes with. after not being able to tell which was the front or back on a pair of one seam pants i had made. i took a piece of muslin and wrote on it the size and pattern number and then sewed it into the back of the pants. and on shirts i put the piece of cloth down towards the bottom of the side seams, only because i dont like tags at the back of my neck. but Deepika had a great idea. she says to use ribbon. and i have a mountain of satin ribbon (very soft) so i took some of it that matched my grandsons pants i made for him and wrote the size i made for him plus the name of the pattern, folded it in half and sewed it into the back of his pants. my mom also suggested to sew a couple of buttons onto the tag also incase you might need them later, for the tops. i use the permanent clothes markers to mark these tags with. it helps to just look at the tag and decide if i want to sew that pattern again or not. it makes it handy to have the size and name and number of the pattern on the tag already. hope this helps someone.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
comocosews said...
I like the idea of putting in the pattern number. I used to to be able to remember. Now, with having more patterns and getting older, the memory isn't so good anymore.
12/2/02 1:26 PM
Deepika said...
Maria what a helpful tip. Another idea... instead of using a muslin cloth why not just use grossgrain ribbon. It'll be softer and no need to finish the edges.
12/2/02 2:10 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
hi deepika, yeah the ribbon sounds good too. i guess a person could get the white or light colored ribbon so that when you write the info. on it. it will show up good. heck i have miles and miles of ribbons in all colors !
12/2/02 2:30 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
oops forgot to add that i have been putting the piece of muslin in the side seam of the blouses since i dont like tags on the neck part they always bother me.. haha, my mom told me to sew extra buttons on the piece of muslin too. but i told her " when have i yet made a top with buttons"? she said "well, thats how the rtw tops come" which is true. but this sewer hasnt yet sewn buttons ! i know, i know i need to learn. and i will,,, soon.
12/2/02 2:37 PM
KarenP said...
Great idea! I have a skirt with the same type of waistband, and every time I put it on I have to really look at it closely to make sure I don't put it on backwards. I will give this a try!
12/2/02 2:44 PM
Grandma52 said...
Another great tip!!!
12/2/02 3:28 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Another way I used to mark my patterns was to use my machine's lettering function to embroider the pattern number in the hem allowance. Hmmm, wonder why I stopped doing that? Maria, weren't you a little uncomfortable with your pants on backwards? :-)
12/2/02 9:39 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Gigi, heck yes i was...lol... i wondered why the back part kept wanting to pull downwards. it really was funny, but hard to tell the difference while i first put them on. plus if you can imagine something being too big for me, these pants were ! so try to picture that. too big and on backwards. of course i would have never told a soul that mistake before joining PR.com. but i had to share my sewing mistake in hopes someone else will not make that same mistake too.... lol...
12/3/02 0:22 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Great tip, Maria. I like the idea of stitching in the buttons like RTW. I have been labeling my children's clothes with my machines lettering function by including their name on a piece of ribbon. I usually use satin ribbon with a scrap of water soluable stabilizer. Sometimes I include size info in garments that may be hand-me-downs. I have also used the letters to include a message on the lining of special occasion dresses for my girls.
12/3/02 0:31 AM
Dale C said...
I love this idea. Having the pattern number and info on the tag would help me some. I will have to start giving my patterns names or something... I change them so much that I have to rename them each time I use them.
12/3/02 2:21 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Thank you Maria, a very useful idea.
12/3/02 4:40 PM
Holly said...
Maria, what a clever idea. I don't like anything at my neck either. I was thinking of printing some labels, but I like your idea about the pattern # better. Thanks for a great tip :-)
12/8/02 2:12 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
well, i borrowed deepika's idea about using ribbon. i have a mountain of satin ribbon (so soft), on the last pair of one seams i made for my grandson i used light colored satin ribbon and wrote "one seam" and "2-toddler" on the other half. just folded a piece of satin ribbon in half and sewed it into the back part of the pants. works great and now i dont have to bother sewing the muslin the ribbon is already hemmed. thanks deepika ..
12/8/02 2:47 PM
PrairieTides said...
This is such a great tip!! I'm going to buy a fabric pen and ribbon and start marking all my clothing. I sew a short line in a bright contrasting thread colour to mark the back of garments that weren't obvious (at least not to the husband who was always putting the baby's clothes on backwards!).
2/5/03 3:09 AM
candyo said...
This tip is especially good for baby clothes so that you can mark the size, since baby clothes are often handed down to others. Then any future owners will know what size it is. I plan to do this with either ribbon or twill tape and use a pen from the quilt notions section for marking.
12/15/03 10:22 PM
Mel.J said...
I also mark the fabric used on the tag so that I know how to launder. (Depending if your DH does the laundry you might want to put specific instructions...)
3/9/04 4:12 PM
elka78k said...
wow, I do have tags, but I never thought of adding the pattern/size info to them! Great idea!
8/25/05 4:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.