SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Making a pattern through a finish cloth.

Viewed 5085 times
Posted by: Iris
photo

 
 
About Iris
MEXICO
Member since: 9/23/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/2/02 2:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Featured in the PR book!
First, I Hope my English be enough to explain it.

Sometimes we have an special cloth, but we donítí have the pattern, And we like so much, but itís making old and we would like to continue using. Well, which we can do is to construct the pattern through the same cloth.
First, it is necessary to wash the cloth and to make marks for the seam, Itís very important to make them to avoid lose the way , can be with permanent color or little cuts.
Second, carefully, un-seam the cloth , Iron each of the un-seam cloth (once by time) passing to paper or pellon the pattern making all the marks, thread of the fabric, number of pieces, etc... Also, we can make notes and pin it to the corresponding piece to be sure donít forget any detail and how it was built.
Once we have the complete Pattern in the paper with annotations we can use it to reconstruct that special cloth we love in a new fabric.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
This is very clever, Iris. I have never tried it, but it seems like such a good idea.
12/2/02 3:31 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I gave away some clothes I really liked because they were worn out or didn't fit anymore. Now I wish I had kept them. Even if you don't copy the whole garment, you can copy a favorite neckline or waist curve, for example.
12/3/02 12:16 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Thank you Iris, this tip is very useful and has been used a lot in Finland, not just in the WW2 time when there was need of everything but also later on when you wanted to copy something you loved that was about to vaporize, thank you again for reminding.
12/3/02 4:25 PM
Shona said...
Good idea to make markings before taking apart. You explain very well in English. Thank you.
12/5/02 12:29 PM
Holly said...
Thank you very much for this tip, Iris. I have been wondering what to do with some outfits that I can no longer wear. I understood your directions in English just fine.
12/8/02 2:25 PM
Loreli said...
Thats a good idea Iris. I will try it out. I also read an article that you lay the tissue paper over the cloth and with a soft pencil rub the lines through on the paper. I tried it out with a pocket the other day that I wanted to trace and it worked out well.
12/18/02 1:09 PM
julie thoma said...
I to have done exactly what you suggested above and have had wonderful results. I took apart a beautiful robe with lace for the trim that I'd had for over 10 years. I saved the lace and used it on the new robe. I also made alterations to the pattern, made it a bit bigger and added darts for a more feminne look.
12/22/02 11:24 PM
Lotusleaf said...
Interesting idea and helpful...I will keep in mind.
3/9/04 2:02 AM
barbieiam said...
would like to hear her comment on this without taking the item apart, but how to trace it???????????
8/25/04 3:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.