SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Better Fitting Waistbands

Viewed 5267 times
Posted by: KitnRose
photo

 
 
About KitnRose star
TX USA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/21/04 3:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
This week was Pants Buying week, an icky time for me. I can't wait until I can just sew up a perfect fitting pair. But while trying on roughly two million pairs of pants I found that many of the top brands (Dockers, Calvin Kline, etc) are cutting their waistbands on the bias. Docker's even advertises their new "better fitting waistband" and all. I have no idea how a bias waistband holds up over the years nor any special sewing techniques that should be used, but I do know that the "new" waistbands are very comfortable. And, yes, I did find two pairs of pants so the expedition paid off. :)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- I wasn't aware that RTW was doing bias waistbands, but then I'm not usually trying the top brands -- Can't find them at Wal-Mart!
7/21/04 6:44 PM
Diana M said...
I dare say that as quickly as you are out-growing your "beginner" status, it won't be long that you have your very own perfect pants pattern! Thank you for the tip.
7/21/04 8:11 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Interesting, a bias waistband, I'm going to ponder on that for awhile. One thing for sure, it would take lots more fabric. Thanks for the info. If you really like the fit on the pants you bought, maybe you could make a pattern from them?
7/22/04 1:26 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
INTERESTING IDEA
7/22/04 1:38 AM
sewsally said...
How wide were the bias waistbands? Interfaced on the bias? Did the pants fit at the natural waist or belly button? Very interested. Sally
7/22/04 10:16 AM
NancyDaQ said...
I've noticed this as well, and they are more comfortable. I have also noticed that a lot of manufacturers are now making pieced waistbands (i.e., there are vertical seams in the waistband that matches the side &/or back pant seams), and not just on contour waist garments. Sure makes alterations a lot simpler (less to rip open), plus would make a more efficient layout for the bias waistband.
7/22/04 3:55 PM
KitnRose said...
The pair of Dockers that I bought that have the biased waist band are below the waist pants, though I think the bias bands are a staple on most Docker's now. The waistbands are seamingly the exact same size and construction as non-biased bands (no side seams). I have no idea as to the interfacing but if it's there then it must be flexable too. I LOVE how this pair hugs my back without injuring my abs when I sit. :)
7/22/04 4:57 PM
mag said...
Nice review. Next time I sew some pants with a waist band I think I'll try this tip.
7/22/04 9:39 PM
boots777 said...
Need infor on making the bias waistband Must it be a true bias or close?
9/22/04 4:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.