SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Tracing Jalie patterns and staying sane at the same time

Viewed 5192 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/31/04 6:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I find Jalie patterns very difficult to trace. I especially can't find my line after a notch. This was driving me insane. (That's my professional opinion.) I decided to use a thick tipped highligher pen and highlighted my cutting line. When I lost track of my line I could just find the nearest line marker and move there and then trace back to where I had lost it (kind of like going backwards in children's mazes). In this case I initally decided to make an S size but then after highlighting I decided I'd be better of with the next smaller size. The highlighting helped me recongnize my R line - - it was the line just inside the highlighted one. If you use different sizes of these patterns you could highlight different sizes in different colors as long as the sizes where not too close together.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
testing, testing...1, 2, 3,
8/5/04 10:48 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Sue, that's a very good idea. I have difficulty tracing Jalie as well. Don't even get me started on Burda WOF, lol.
8/6/04 7:58 AM
SandraB said...
Thanks for this idea. I find tracing Burda WOF very frustrating, so this just might work.
8/20/04 3:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Good tip. I like Jalie but concur about the tracing difficulties. I will definitely try this tip, possibly even this weekend although it might require a tip to Office Depot first.
8/20/04 9:54 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That's a great idea! I have been using primacolor colored pencils.
9/20/04 8:43 PM
ladylola said...
I've been using this technique for Burda WOF, much easier!
9/24/04 3:24 PM
drdeez said...
Great idea, Sue. I have many Jalie patterns but each time I think about the tracing I think twice before using them. I'm inspired to try one today.
2/11/06 11:04 AM
SansSouci572 said...
darts are the worst!
6/3/06 9:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.