Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fray-Check, how to soften (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6880 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   Off-topic by 1 people   
Posted by: PVA
photo
About PVA star
OR USA
Member since: 3/28/04
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/04 9:54 AM
Featured in the PR book!
We all dislike the way fray-check hardens as it dries. To counteract that, as soon as you apply it, steam-iron it until it is dry. Don't leave the iron on it -- just keep ironing & steaming the spot until you can see it is dry. That keeps the fabric dry, and it will be soft.

8/7/04 To clarify, while steaming it you're actually ironing it, back & forth so as not to scorch the fabric -- the point is to keep ironing it with the iron steaming until you can see that the fabric is dry. When the fabric has cooled it is then soft to the touch.
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Thanks for this great tip. I have used fray-check many times and I love this idea. I'm sure I will be using it in the near future.
8/6/04 9:36 AM
Stitchology said...
Do you make contact with the iron or just hold it close enough to steam the surface?
8/6/04 10:12 AM
PVA said...
StitchMD, I have clarified the point in the review. Thanks for the question, there is a distinct difference between steaming and ironing! (8^D)
8/7/04 10:01 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
So your actually touching the iron to the fabric with the steam coming out of the iron, right ?
8/13/04 12:19 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Maria...in answer to your question, yes. The wording is a little confusing. Where PVA says "don't leave the iron on it" she means "don't leave the iron in one place", keep it moving like you always do in ironing, so it doesn't scortch. Where she says "that keeps the fabric dry" she means "the ironing will dry the fray-check".
8/14/04 4:27 AM
SewVeryTall said...
comments are out of order...hmmmm...also, oops, it's "scorch"
8/14/04 9:16 AM
PVA said...
8/15/04 Maria: Yes , for this to work, the iron is in full contact with the fabric.
8/15/04 10:31 AM
pia2099 said...
thank you so much for this tip. I've strayed from fray check for this very reason. I'll iron it next time again thank you ann
6/5/05 11:55 PM
Sew it seams said...
I'm going to try this too. Thanks Pat.
6/6/05 8:36 PM
AnneM said...
Hi Pat. I remembered that someone had posted this tip, and I'm about to do the collar on my speed tailoring jacket - where she recomends using fray-check at one point. So I had to go and look this up.
2/4/06 3:34 PM
cheryldimont said...
i would highly reccommend using a pressing cloth between the fabric and the iron plate; otherwise, one risks gumming up the iron plate.
1/17/08 12:30 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us