SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Cynthia Guffey 4-day Sewing Workshop

Louisiana, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5234 times
Posted by: Charmaine
photo

 
 
About Charmaine
LA USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/9/04 9:14 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I am still on a high after attending CG 4-day July workshop in Baton Rouge. Even though I have been sewing since the age of 12 (almost 40 years), I learned soooo much. She calls her methods “precision” sewing and, believe me, it IS. I was able to fit her armscye princess dress, her flat front pant, and a jacket (CG5030) over the week. She first took precision measurements and taught me how to transfer these to the pattern. I then made a muslin of each from the adjusted pattern and then she “fit” the mockups. I then transferred these new adjustments to the patterns - and finally made my master patterns. She also taught us mini lessons on pressing, seaming, bound pockets & buttonholes, pattern drafting, 4 point collars, method of precision cutting, and directional sewing, etc. She helped me pick out fabric and sleeve variations for three dresses and a pant suit, and walked me through the pattern drafting for the sleeves.

Before thyroid disease and menopause, I had few adjustments that needed to be made on the pattern itself, so made very few muslins, and only had to tweak the final garment. This workshop changed my “sewing life” and I encourage anyone to go. If you are on the fence, make the decision, schedule the workshop, and work out the details later. I may have spent a lot of money to go to the workshop, purchase patterns, fabric, & tapes, but I know that in the future I will be more selective and less impulsive about what I buy. So in the long run, I think I will save time and money.

Cynthia is warm, witty, fun, dedicated, and very generous. Start using your stash and saving your money to attend one of these workshops! Charmaine

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I agree about Cynthia Guffey's talents. What a cool lady! She came to our ASG a couple of years ago and really impressed us all. See if your ASG can bring her to you or take Charmaine's advice and go to her!
8/10/04 8:13 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Cynthia is a great teacher and just so much fun to listen to! Did she share any recipes while you were in class? She ends her seminars at the Sewing and Quilt Expo with a recipe, and it's a hoot! Oh, and the recipes are great, too! -Ann
8/10/04 11:43 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for sharing this, Charmaine! This is one of my sewing dreams...I would so love to do this! Wouldn't it be fun to do it with other PR folks! ...maybe someday...
8/10/04 8:25 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I took a 1 day workshop with Cynthia a couple of years ago and left wanting more. Even though she was smack dab in the middle of chemo, she was still a bundle of energy. A 4 day workshop with her?!? Sounds *great*! Hope you'll share what you learned with all of us.
8/11/04 5:50 PM
mjrsew said...
I agree with everything you have to say about Cynthia. She is the best!
10/20/04 6:21 PM
KarmenG said...
I am considering going next year - now that several months have gone by since your review - have you been able to use the info you learned? Have you been able to make any of the muslins into garments? Thanks
11/22/04 9:14 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Lois, you're so lucky to get to go! I'm green with envy.
12/18/04 10:05 PM
mjrsew said...
I too took a 4 day class from Cynthia in Nashville last year. It was wonderful. And----yes, I did make the garment from the muslin. It is one of her princess line A-line dresses with complex 3 color geometirc piecing at the hem area. The work does require precision but Cynthia provides excellent tips for achieving a perfect garment. She is now offering her 4 day workshop in Baton Rouge about 4 -6x per year. It is worth every penny. You will come away with your "masters degree" in garment fitting and construction----note---not your B.A.--Cynthia's classes are best for those who know how to sew. She doesn't teach beginning sewing. She is the best and we should all try to take classes from her at sewing expos or in her home town. Marijo Rymer
1/25/05 6:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.