SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Weights

Viewed 5161 times
Posted by: Mrs. Cecil
photo

 
 
About Mrs. Cecil star
Member since: 4/22/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/10/04 7:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My least favorite part of sewing is cutting out the fabric. I hate pinning all the pieces down then having to unpin them for repositioning or marking.

A few years ago I started using large utility hooks to hold my pattern pieces in place while I cut out the fabric. Utility hooks, sometimes called bike hooks or ladder hooks, are large, plastic coated metal hooks that can be found for under a dollar at any hardware or discount store. They are between 6 and 6 1/2 inches long, and come with curved and squared ends.

Because they are so large you only need a few, and the pvc coating keeps them from snagging or marring the pattern or fabric. The curved ones fit nicely into curved pattern pieces and the square ones form almost a right angle making cutting corners and curves a little easier.

I still have to pin to use scissors, but with a rotary cutter the hooks work great.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
You're thinking outside the box, very creative!
8/10/04 9:01 AM
Sewing Lady said...
I have heard about using empty baby food jars as weight - thoughts, or suggestions? What would you use inside the jars?
8/16/04 10:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Sewing Lady...you could fill the baby food jars with water to make them heavier, if you also saved the lids. [I don't have any kids, but aren't those baby food jar lids resealable?]
8/17/04 1:33 AM
Mrs. Cecil said...
With my luck, it would be silk and the jar would leak...I guess I would use dry beans or rice to weigh down an empty baby jar. Or for those of us without babies, maybe a small zip top sandwich bag filled with dry beans...
8/17/04 2:34 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
For the jar option - I use the jars that hold my beans and rice for blind baking (pies etc) That way I utilise it for two hobbies in one go. Just have to make sure that the outside of the jar is always clean.
8/18/04 5:31 PM
petra said...
After several attempts at other things, I find the giant flat washers available at any hardware store the best, they cost a few cents each, I got about 20. Nice because you can put them right up to the edge and the rotary cutter doesn't catch.
8/19/04 11:36 AM
runnerchicki said...
I also use tuna cans or cat food cans for pattern weights. and they are CHEAP!
8/20/04 5:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.