SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Weights

Viewed 5236 times
Posted by: Mrs. Cecil
photo

 
 
About Mrs. Cecil star
Member since: 4/22/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/10/04 7:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My least favorite part of sewing is cutting out the fabric. I hate pinning all the pieces down then having to unpin them for repositioning or marking.

A few years ago I started using large utility hooks to hold my pattern pieces in place while I cut out the fabric. Utility hooks, sometimes called bike hooks or ladder hooks, are large, plastic coated metal hooks that can be found for under a dollar at any hardware or discount store. They are between 6 and 6 1/2 inches long, and come with curved and squared ends.

Because they are so large you only need a few, and the pvc coating keeps them from snagging or marring the pattern or fabric. The curved ones fit nicely into curved pattern pieces and the square ones form almost a right angle making cutting corners and curves a little easier.

I still have to pin to use scissors, but with a rotary cutter the hooks work great.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
runnerchicki said...
I also use tuna cans or cat food cans for pattern weights. and they are CHEAP!
8/20/04 5:00 PM
petra said...
After several attempts at other things, I find the giant flat washers available at any hardware store the best, they cost a few cents each, I got about 20. Nice because you can put them right up to the edge and the rotary cutter doesn't catch.
8/19/04 11:36 AM
Gilraen Surion said...
For the jar option - I use the jars that hold my beans and rice for blind baking (pies etc) That way I utilise it for two hobbies in one go. Just have to make sure that the outside of the jar is always clean.
8/18/04 5:31 PM
Mrs. Cecil said...
With my luck, it would be silk and the jar would leak...I guess I would use dry beans or rice to weigh down an empty baby jar. Or for those of us without babies, maybe a small zip top sandwich bag filled with dry beans...
8/17/04 2:34 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Sewing Lady...you could fill the baby food jars with water to make them heavier, if you also saved the lids. [I don't have any kids, but aren't those baby food jar lids resealable?]
8/17/04 1:33 AM
Sewing Lady said...
I have heard about using empty baby food jars as weight - thoughts, or suggestions? What would you use inside the jars?
8/16/04 10:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're thinking outside the box, very creative!
8/10/04 9:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.