SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Weights

Viewed 5159 times
Posted by: Mrs. Cecil
photo

 
 
About Mrs. Cecil star
Member since: 4/22/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/10/04 7:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My least favorite part of sewing is cutting out the fabric. I hate pinning all the pieces down then having to unpin them for repositioning or marking.

A few years ago I started using large utility hooks to hold my pattern pieces in place while I cut out the fabric. Utility hooks, sometimes called bike hooks or ladder hooks, are large, plastic coated metal hooks that can be found for under a dollar at any hardware or discount store. They are between 6 and 6 1/2 inches long, and come with curved and squared ends.

Because they are so large you only need a few, and the pvc coating keeps them from snagging or marring the pattern or fabric. The curved ones fit nicely into curved pattern pieces and the square ones form almost a right angle making cutting corners and curves a little easier.

I still have to pin to use scissors, but with a rotary cutter the hooks work great.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
You're thinking outside the box, very creative!
8/10/04 9:01 AM
Sewing Lady said...
I have heard about using empty baby food jars as weight - thoughts, or suggestions? What would you use inside the jars?
8/16/04 10:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Sewing Lady...you could fill the baby food jars with water to make them heavier, if you also saved the lids. [I don't have any kids, but aren't those baby food jar lids resealable?]
8/17/04 1:33 AM
Mrs. Cecil said...
With my luck, it would be silk and the jar would leak...I guess I would use dry beans or rice to weigh down an empty baby jar. Or for those of us without babies, maybe a small zip top sandwich bag filled with dry beans...
8/17/04 2:34 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
For the jar option - I use the jars that hold my beans and rice for blind baking (pies etc) That way I utilise it for two hobbies in one go. Just have to make sure that the outside of the jar is always clean.
8/18/04 5:31 PM
petra said...
After several attempts at other things, I find the giant flat washers available at any hardware store the best, they cost a few cents each, I got about 20. Nice because you can put them right up to the edge and the rotary cutter doesn't catch.
8/19/04 11:36 AM
runnerchicki said...
I also use tuna cans or cat food cans for pattern weights. and they are CHEAP!
8/20/04 5:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.