SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pressing corduroy

Viewed 5512 times
Posted by: Eli
photo

 
 
About Eli starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/7/04
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 91 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/11/04 2:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
I have found out that when pressing corduroy, during the sewing process except for pressing over a towel (which is a general knowledge), if you need to press from the right side of the fabric then you can place a piece of self-fabric (a scrap rectangular piece) over the seam (right sides together) and press over the wrong side of the self-fabric. It worked well for me, the nap did not get damaged at all.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. Thanks for the tip.
8/11/04 6:51 PM
PVA said...
What a great idea! Is this the best web site or what? Going one step further, it certainly would be worthwhile having a long rectangle kept with ironing/pressing supplies to use with corduroy garments as well as during the construction phase! Thanks so much for this review. I love corduroy, but have never even thought of this.
8/11/04 11:07 PM
KitnRose said...
While making a costume that required 5 yards of panne velvet I got creative and made a ironing board cover for my small board out of scrap velvet. That made pressing monumentally easier!
8/13/04 6:50 PM
D1Diva said...
Eli, this is a great tip. Kitnrose, I just bought some panne and never thought about how to press it. I'll use your idea as well as Eli's corduroy idea. Now that texture is in style again, this tip is very timely. Thanks to both of you! And yes PVA, this is the best web site!
8/15/04 11:31 AM
alicia said...
Excellent tip, and I love KitnRose's self fabric ironing board cover too. Thanks!!!
8/17/04 10:44 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Quite timely indeed! I have somr cord in the stash awaiting its turn on the table!
8/28/04 4:57 PM
haulani said...
Thank you that is really nice to know because I am usually in that position. Once again Thank- You very much.
10/16/05 6:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.