SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Get Lucky!

Viewed 5237 times
Posted by: Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy! starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/15/04 6:42 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
...The magazine, people! ;)

Seriously, "LUCKY" magazine is one of the best magazines to get great sewing ideas with the latest fashions and trends. It blurs the line between a magazine and a catalog, because it gives you information where you can buy the items, yet it has a fashion magazine format and interesting articles.

Close-up photos, similar styles (skirts, tops, dresses) grouped together, with fabric types, etc. They also feature up and coming designers, too.

My favorite inspiration source for making my sewing projects more RTW.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Athena77 said...
Sorry about the typo
12/1/05 11:29 AM
Athena77 said...
This magazine is a bargain to subscribe - I found one for $12 per year!
12/1/05 11:28 AM
Athena77 said...
This magazine is a bargain to subscribe - I found one for $12 per issue!
12/1/05 11:28 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
And don't forget all those nice, meaty September issues weighing in right now for fall/winter stylin'!
8/29/04 6:37 AM
AprilDawn said...
I totally agree with you, Oopsy Daisy. I devour Lucky, Elle, Bazaar, Vogue, and all others (slight magazine addiction). Some great inspirational books are the Lucky Shopping Manual (bit pricey but lovely with the same format as the magazine and lots more style tips) and InStyle Secrets of Style (similar to the Lucky book) but really great with basic styles and accessories. Lord knows that we want our clothing to be flattering and stylish. I think that both these books help with both. Great investments.
8/28/04 1:37 PM
kathi s said...
Real Simple has great clothes ideas too.
8/18/04 10:28 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Hey, pretty sneaky the way you grabbed our attention, lol! This sounds like a kewl magazine...I'd never heard of it before. I'm going to check it out...thanks for the tip :)
8/17/04 1:54 AM
joan said...
Thanks for the info. I checked out the web-site and it looks like another magazine to look forward to arriving in my mail box. I was thinking of letting my Sew News subscription lapse however.
8/16/04 9:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for this info. I have seen the magazine but did not buy it. May give it a try.
8/16/04 7:01 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
They also have a website: www.luckymag.com Also, in their BIG September issue, they show the new cardigan sweater shapes, almost a cut-away curve in the front. There is still time to recut my cardigan! :)
8/16/04 4:39 PM
layla said...
Joan...My Joann's has the LUCKEY Magazine.
8/16/04 1:16 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I agree! The subscription is very reasonable - I think I pay $12/12 issues.
8/16/04 10:26 AM
Rebecca D said...
I agree, it's the best and I just sent away for a subsciption. You can SEE the clothes. What a novel concept.
8/16/04 7:02 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
I didn't understand which magazine she meant. Maybe I overlooked it. If I did, I am sorry.
8/16/04 5:22 AM
MsConnie said...
Oooh, don't you just love, love, love Lucky? I have a subscription & it's definitely my favorite magazine, and I subscribe to several. Best layouts & closeups of all of them! The Lucky Shopping Manual is a good one too for building a wardrobe.
8/16/04 0:10 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
It should be, probably near the fashion and womens magazines. I've also seen it at Target, grocery stores, etc.
8/15/04 10:28 PM
joan said...
I've never heard of this magazine. Is it available at Barnes and Noble?
8/15/04 6:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.