SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > new use for plastic rx bottles & caps

Viewed 5178 times
Posted by: Jennifer shaw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jennifer shaw starstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/15/04 8:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
I started recycling all of my old med bottles for sewing items-
storing broken machine needles, loose threads, bobbins, and even small buttons and snaps. THe tops can be labeled with a sticker, so you know what's inside.
The newest idea was to use the cap as a quickie thimble, when I am working at the sewing machine!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LSBCATS3 said...
Interesting idea!
8/16/04 5:20 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Ok, I HAVE to ask, lol, why are you storing your broken machine needles?
8/17/04 2:07 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
A really good question! I put the broken machine needles inside the container and put the cap on. That way when it's full - I throw it out, no one gets stabbed by the needles.
8/17/04 10:20 AM
D1Diva said...
I do the same thing with my old needles and pins that are bent. I'll have to try the other ideas as well!
8/19/04 8:30 AM
Evadney said...
I always love to recycle stuff
8/19/04 2:24 PM
denice said...
good idea! Any Sugestions on how to keep thread form unrolling form the larger spools while in storage??
8/30/04 8:32 PM
GNBx3 said...
Great idea, will share with friends. Barbara
9/4/04 9:46 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
denice, I usually try to wind the thread around the notch on the spool. ( I usually use Gutterman or mettler thread.) As for the bobbins, I just snap the top on very quickly! lol
9/5/04 5:54 PM
perkypet said...
Since I'm on medication full time, I've hated wasting all those prescription bottles and now I've fnally found a way to put them to good use. Now why didn't I think of this? lol Thanks for the tip!
9/7/04 4:27 AM
pittysmom said...
I use alot of blue jean buttons (the hammer on kind) and lots of hook and eye fasteners. These come straight home and out of the package and into an Rx bottle. They always fall out of the opened package and get lost otherwise.
5/29/05 10:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.