SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Keep thread from tangling when beginning stitching

Viewed 5349 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/16/04 6:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
This may be old to most of you, but I just learned a trick that has worked everytime I tested it. If you have a straigt stitch only machine you should hold your loose threads behind the foot when you put the presser foot down and begin to sew. If you have a zigzag machine (even if you are straight stitching on it) hold the threads to the left of the foot. The feed dogs catch the thread and keep it from making a nest! REALLY!

I learned on an old straight stitch machine and was always told to put the threads behind the foot. WHat did I know that that instruction was predicated upon my using a straight stitch only machine!!! Try it and let me know if it works for you, too!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
I too learned on a machine that only had a straight stitch & straight forward at that! (Shows you how old I am (8^O !) Thanks for this tip -- I'm going to give it a test-run then I'll let you know how it worked out, but I'll bet it's a winner!
8/16/04 8:25 PM
SewVeryTall said...
And to be extra clear for the beginners, the threads should be under the presser foot first.
8/17/04 2:21 AM
alicia said...
I always held the threads but never consciously thought if they were to the left or directly behind the presser foot... will have to check this out. Thanks!
8/17/04 10:43 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I can't believe that in all the years I have been sewing, I never knew about this. I tried it today and it was amazing! Thanks for the tip. This is why I love PR! -Ann
8/17/04 3:58 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great idea! I am not a lover of "bobbin art" either. lol
8/17/04 6:32 PM
cindyann said...
Thanks for this tip. I've always held it behind the presser foot but will now try to the "left".
8/19/04 12:30 PM
Eme said...
That's great -- I just learned about actually holding the threads behind the presser foot, but I didn't know about the zig-zag variation! Thanks!
8/22/04 3:57 PM
KristenI said...
I'm working on some knit baby clothes, with zigzag, and have been encountering this problem...I will use this tip now! Thanks so much.
8/31/04 11:24 AM
Elisabetha said...
This is a great tip; and it works like a treat!
9/3/04 2:29 AM
stitchit said...
Try having needle in its HIGHEST position before you start stitching and also you will never lose your top thread even if you forget to hold the two threads together.
10/24/04 1:47 PM
Loudone247 said...
Left of the foot....is that to your left facing the machine, or to your right facing the machine?
1/6/06 1:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.