SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Convertible collar with yoke

Viewed 5415 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/04 8:34 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Jules asked if I would write a tip on how to construct a convertible collar with yoke by sandwiching the collar between the yokes. I've always done it this way so I'm often surprised when patterns have you leave an opening in the back neck instead. IMO, the sandwich method is soooo much easier! Please click on the link above for step-by-step directions with photos.

If anything is unclear or if I can improve on anything, please let me know. :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tessa said...
Thanks, Gigi. The collar attachment method was the only thing I didn't like about the KS camp shirt. I'm looking forward to trying your way. I found one small problem, the 7th photo didn't show up in your instructions.
8/23/04 4:15 PM
Tessa said...
Sorry Gigi, I just checked again and all the photos showed up fine.
8/23/04 4:37 PM
PVA said...
Gigi, thanks so much for this technique -- I have printed it off of the thread on the message board. I would love the photos, but I was not able to print them off your web site. I'm sure I understand the directions without the photos, & I plan to do samples ASAP so I can hang onto the understanding. (At my age hanging on is a sometimes thing. {blush} I love camp shirts, yoked shirts, blouses & etc. This is the *greatest web* site ever!
8/23/04 8:15 PM
PVA said...
Oops, sorry Gigi -- I just did print it off your web site! (sigh) When I first highlighted, did the print preview thing, it showed page 1 of 3 but nothing -- just a blank page. After posting my first comment I went back to the web site & just continued the print command & voila, just like *magic* I got it, photos & all. Thanks again, you're the greatest!
8/23/04 8:33 PM
SueV said...
OMG that is the best tip ever. I can't tell you how many shirts I made "the other way". This is exactly what I need to make them well... maybe perfect! Thank you sew much!
8/24/04 11:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have used the sandwich yoke method before but never did the collar the way you showed it. Very helpful tip. I hate hand sewing and try to sew as much by machine as possible.
8/24/04 6:53 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Excellent technique Gigi. I am apparently having an 'airhead moment'...I can't figure out why this collar is called convertible?
8/25/04 4:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
It is called a convertible collar because it can be worn buttoned up completely (there is usually a loop at the top of the facing and a button under the collar - I usually don't bother with that) or worn open.
8/25/04 8:08 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Oh ok, thanks Gigi...no wonder I couldn't think of it, I can't imagine anybody actually wearing it buttoned up, lol.
8/26/04 3:00 AM
alicia said...
Thank you so much!!
8/27/04 12:42 PM
Elisabetha said...
Thank you so much Gigi; I really would love to attend one of your classes; but a bit far from here( I live south of London, UK.
9/3/04 2:25 AM
Larkin said...
Dear Gigi, I'd like to learn this technique - I'm working on a man's camp shirt. I can't get to it - can you help? -julia
9/19/06 7:11 PM
Sewluvly said...
The link on this tip no longer works. Is the information posted somewhere else? I'm attempting the Vogue SB blouse pattern V7903 and several reviews mention this tip.
9/24/06 4:29 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Sewluvly, Gigi posted the tip on her new blog, Behind the Seams. You can see it here: Gigi's Collar Tutorial
9/24/06 9:23 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Link not working.
9/22/08 10:27 PM
stich girl said...
link broken :(
4/3/12 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.