SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy Serger Looper Threading

Viewed 5745 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/2/04 9:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I use dental floss threaders to thread the loopers on my serger. They come in a little plastic box and look like fishing line with a loop on the end. They are stiff enough to thread through the holes and loops, but flexible. I just pull the thread though the loop on the threader and then pull it through the holes and loops.

I find them much easier than trying to use tweezers.

Oct. 12, Here's a picture of a pack I just bought.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


21 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
alicia said...
Marylynn, where do you get these? is there a name to ask for? This sounds wonderful - ANYTHING to make the loopers easier - sometimes they just drive me nutso!! (ok, so it's a really short trip :) )
9/3/04 8:49 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
My package says 'G_U_M Floss Threaders'. you can find them at the grocery store, the drug store, big box stores. They are in the dental care section, by the dental floss. Easy to find. I will try and upload a pic over the weekend.
9/3/04 10:56 AM
GNBx3 said...
I use these for my teeth and had thought that they would work to thread the serger that is being shipped to me as I type. Thanks for confirming what I thought would make my life easier. Barbara
9/4/04 9:23 AM
sessi said...
Will run to the store to get somedental floss "threader". Then I will comment again.
9/18/04 3:26 PM
Oscar said...
I like this idea better than buying a very thin wire with a loop at one end from a quilting catalog. Also it wouldn't be so easy to lose. I would get more for my money. It's the Scotch ( not the liquid kind" coming out. Oscar
9/24/04 5:22 PM
DianeR said...
great idea!!
9/27/04 11:27 AM
milch said...
i use these too. they're great.
10/1/04 4:01 PM
reunaroundsue said...
I just purchased a serger and this is a great idea. In fact I have some of the floss threaders. I probably never would of thought of your idea. Thank You
10/18/04 2:27 PM
Nana said...
I have just used regular dental floss....6-8 inch piece folded in half....has worked for years for me. just keep a container of floss w. your sewing "stuff" Thanks Nana Clare
5/16/05 11:03 PM
granmaL said...
where can I find an instrution manual for an older Kenmore Serger
11/13/06 7:40 PM
deeyuma said...
I spent 2 hrs this a.m. reading manual and trying to work with tweezers that came with my new serger, finally got it threaded, but will definitely use your method next time, right now just excited about what am I gonna serge first, besides the scraps I did, thank you for tip, I appreciate it.
2/9/07 4:20 PM
Teachthemtoread said...
I will try this. I just got a serger and have been sweating out the threading.
9/1/07 9:23 PM
Cobblehurst said...
You seem to be a lady of Ingenuity - Great idea with the dental floss...Sew.. no pun intended...what is the best way to serger around inside corners? I find this a bit tricky... . Respectfully... Cobblehurst
10/25/07 10:29 AM
HKartmann said...
I will definately try this Technique, I have been frustrated many times, but I have also found using longer tweezers help also, plus I use the tweezers to help me thread my sewing maching it helps keep the thread more stable and is faster than using auto threaders :)
10/8/08 4:53 AM
Dinorah said...
I'm going to buy it then I'll comment on it since it seems to be a very good tip.
11/17/08 10:28 AM
said...
wow I need to try this!
11/5/09 10:00 PM
sewrelaxed said...
I also use this trick, at home and at work. I get my flossers from my kids' stash that they get from the orthodontist but don't use. Straight teeth and easy threading!
11/25/09 10:29 PM
merxsa said...
You are right, works great!
7/22/10 9:52 PM
DollyS said...
Great idea! thanks for the info.
7/25/10 1:34 PM
Baychel3 said...
I've used this , also, and find it to be Heaven-sent! You are absolutely right when you say it is much easier than tweezers! Wonderful tip!
7/26/10 12:26 PM
Kiljoybaby said...
They work great. Someone told me to do this years ago. Real handy
5/8/11 7:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.