Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Easy Serger Looper Threading (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5542 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/2/04 9:32 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I use dental floss threaders to thread the loopers on my serger. They come in a little plastic box and look like fishing line with a loop on the end. They are stiff enough to thread through the holes and loops, but flexible. I just pull the thread though the loop on the threader and then pull it through the holes and loops.

I find them much easier than trying to use tweezers.

Oct. 12, Here's a picture of a pack I just bought.

Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alicia said...
Marylynn, where do you get these? is there a name to ask for? This sounds wonderful - ANYTHING to make the loopers easier - sometimes they just drive me nutso!! (ok, so it's a really short trip :) )
9/3/04 8:49 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
My package says 'G_U_M Floss Threaders'. you can find them at the grocery store, the drug store, big box stores. They are in the dental care section, by the dental floss. Easy to find. I will try and upload a pic over the weekend.
9/3/04 10:56 AM
GNBx3 said...
I use these for my teeth and had thought that they would work to thread the serger that is being shipped to me as I type. Thanks for confirming what I thought would make my life easier. Barbara
9/4/04 9:23 AM
sessi said...
Will run to the store to get somedental floss "threader". Then I will comment again.
9/18/04 3:26 PM
Oscar said...
I like this idea better than buying a very thin wire with a loop at one end from a quilting catalog. Also it wouldn't be so easy to lose. I would get more for my money. It's the Scotch ( not the liquid kind" coming out. Oscar
9/24/04 5:22 PM
DianeR said...
great idea!!
9/27/04 11:27 AM
milch said...
i use these too. they're great.
10/1/04 4:01 PM
reunaroundsue said...
I just purchased a serger and this is a great idea. In fact I have some of the floss threaders. I probably never would of thought of your idea. Thank You
10/18/04 2:27 PM
Nana said...
I have just used regular dental floss....6-8 inch piece folded in half....has worked for years for me. just keep a container of floss w. your sewing "stuff" Thanks Nana Clare
5/16/05 11:03 PM
granmaL said...
where can I find an instrution manual for an older Kenmore Serger
11/13/06 7:40 PM
deeyuma said...
I spent 2 hrs this a.m. reading manual and trying to work with tweezers that came with my new serger, finally got it threaded, but will definitely use your method next time, right now just excited about what am I gonna serge first, besides the scraps I did, thank you for tip, I appreciate it.
2/9/07 4:20 PM
Teachthemtoread said...
I will try this. I just got a serger and have been sweating out the threading.
9/1/07 9:23 PM
Cobblehurst said...
You seem to be a lady of Ingenuity - Great idea with the dental floss...Sew.. no pun intended...what is the best way to serger around inside corners? I find this a bit tricky... . Respectfully... Cobblehurst
10/25/07 10:29 AM
HKartmann said...
I will definately try this Technique, I have been frustrated many times, but I have also found using longer tweezers help also, plus I use the tweezers to help me thread my sewing maching it helps keep the thread more stable and is faster than using auto threaders :)
10/8/08 4:53 AM
Dinorah said...
I'm going to buy it then I'll comment on it since it seems to be a very good tip.
11/17/08 10:28 AM
said...
wow I need to try this!
11/5/09 10:00 PM
sewrelaxed said...
I also use this trick, at home and at work. I get my flossers from my kids' stash that they get from the orthodontist but don't use. Straight teeth and easy threading!
11/25/09 10:29 PM
merxsa said...
You are right, works great!
7/22/10 9:52 PM
DollyS said...
Great idea! thanks for the info.
7/25/10 1:34 PM
Baychel3 said...
I've used this , also, and find it to be Heaven-sent! You are absolutely right when you say it is much easier than tweezers! Wonderful tip!
7/26/10 12:26 PM
Kiljoybaby said...
They work great. Someone told me to do this years ago. Real handy
5/8/11 7:13 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us