SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning your serger

Viewed 5255 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/3/04 9:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I use a painter's stencil brush to clean my serger. The one that I have has 2-inch long bristles, which are long enough to get into the inner workings of the serger and the bristles are stiff enough to get the job done well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I do the same and it works great. Thanks for putting this in writing.
9/3/04 11:02 AM
Rebecca D said...
Good idea, the brush that comes with the serger is always so puny. I think I'll get one of these stencil brushes.
9/4/04 8:34 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
Great idea!
9/4/04 6:42 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Sandra, I'm glad you posted this tip. I've been using one of those brushes, though the project I bought it for is long-forgotten and I'm sure, unfinished. Mine is a nice fat brush that grabs dust and thread when I "dab" it inside the machine, and you're right. It does a very good job
9/5/04 7:44 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the tip! I think that the brush that came with my machine is too small.
9/5/04 5:50 PM
Boo said...
Trying to clean the new machine with the tiny little brush supplied and gave up. Will be buying something along the lines of this hint
9/12/04 6:44 PM
pennysmom said...
Thanks, I just got a serger. And wondered about all the lint.
9/26/04 1:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.