SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning your serger

Viewed 5291 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/3/04 9:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I use a painter's stencil brush to clean my serger. The one that I have has 2-inch long bristles, which are long enough to get into the inner workings of the serger and the bristles are stiff enough to get the job done well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pennysmom said...
Thanks, I just got a serger. And wondered about all the lint.
9/26/04 1:12 AM
Boo said...
Trying to clean the new machine with the tiny little brush supplied and gave up. Will be buying something along the lines of this hint
9/12/04 6:44 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the tip! I think that the brush that came with my machine is too small.
9/5/04 5:50 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Sandra, I'm glad you posted this tip. I've been using one of those brushes, though the project I bought it for is long-forgotten and I'm sure, unfinished. Mine is a nice fat brush that grabs dust and thread when I "dab" it inside the machine, and you're right. It does a very good job
9/5/04 7:44 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
Great idea!
9/4/04 6:42 PM
Rebecca D said...
Good idea, the brush that comes with the serger is always so puny. I think I'll get one of these stencil brushes.
9/4/04 8:34 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I do the same and it works great. Thanks for putting this in writing.
9/3/04 11:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

More Info
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.