Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Bobbin stuck on bobbin winder (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6192 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Posted by: Kristi_Dugan
photo
Friend of PR
About Kristi_Dugan star
MN USA
Member since: 8/29/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/5/04 8:07 PM
Featured in the PR book!
I found out (the hard way) that winding nylon thread onto your plastic bobbin may make it impossible to remove the bobbin from the winder!

To prevent: wind at slow speed and/or don't fill the bobbin entirely.
To remedy: unwind the bobbin entirely and you should be able to remove it from the winder again.

Maybe everyone knows this already, but I panicked after winding the very first bobbin on my new sewing machine and finding an answer online took a surprising amount of searching.
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
I've never used nylon thread, so I'm curious...in your search, did you find out why this happens?
9/6/04 0:28 AM
Rebecca D said...
I'd be curious as to the why as well. I wind my Wooly Nylon by hand on to the bobbin.
9/6/04 6:36 AM
Elaine Penney said...
I ran into this for the first time a couple of weeks ago when doing some decorative stitching. I opened a new package of plastic bobbins, and when I wound the bobbin with the thinner bobbin thread, which I usually use when doing decorative stitching, I couldn't get the bobbin off. (DH to the rescue, finally removed it.) Since it was a new bobbin, I checked the rest of the bobbins in the package. They went on and off the spool just fine, so I wound a different one. The same thing happened. I took the package of bobbins back to my dealer and told him what had happened. He gave me a new package of bobbins, and explained that winding the bobbin can actually tighten the plastic. The thinner the thread and the faster you wind, the more the plastic can tighten. Thus, the caution to wind slowly. Since this had never happened before, we speculate that the specification on this run of bobbins might have been a bit shy. Just FYI. I earmarked the bobbins in the first package to use for hand winding, such as wooy nylon.
9/6/04 7:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is great to know. I only have a few plastic bobbins so I will be very careful with them. I actually prefer the metal ones. Thanks again for giving us this information.
9/6/04 8:55 AM
Norma Hyman said...
I've been told that winding nylon thread on a plastic bobbin too fast can make the thread/bobbin hot - I've had a bobbin "blow apart" from winding too fast. Everything went flying, and thread in a tangled mess. So I wind nylon slowly now!
9/6/04 9:32 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Yes, I've had an "exploding" bobbin, too! Scared the #$%^ out of me! Learned my lesson, don't be a leadfoot winding bobbins! :-)
9/6/04 12:47 PM
Neefer said...
I've never had my bobbin be stuck on the bobbinwinder. I think I would have freaked out. I have wound bobbin thread (light weight thread) so tightly that the plastic bobbin was crushed. My solution has been to wind this thread SLOWLY on metal bobbins. Great Tip!
9/6/04 1:07 PM
Theresa0804 said...
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!! Just got my machine and panicked when I couldn't get the bobbin off of the winder. OMGosh! I had to cut all of the threading off before I could remove the bobbin. I don't care I can afford another bobbin, the machine on the other hand cost a bit more. Thanks millions for the tip. Unfortunately, my machine only takes the plastic 15J bobbins. I'd love to be able to use a metal bobbin, prefer those. In the meantime, I will wind another bobbin with just enough thread to stitch my two seams.
7/5/08 9:18 PM
rose25 said...
Never thought that would happen! WRONG. This week has been a total experience with my Innov-is 1500D. I Don't know if the machine will like nylon thread, but it's shinier!
3/11/14 2:06 AM
thaiyal said...
Thanks for the tip - Kristin and Elaine...this happened yesterday with my new bobbins for an old Viking machine and I was able to unwind and rewind slowly this time.
4/19/14 5:47 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us