SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > use a machine needle to make a button shank

Viewed 5169 times
Posted by: Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seams starstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/13/04 2:07 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Featured in the PR book!
A common way to make a shank is to use a tooth pick or something like it to hold your button away from your fabric while you stitch it in place. This doesn't work very well for me because the toothpick always seems to move away while I'm trying to hold it in place and stitch at the same time. Using a straight pin underneath does not usually give me enough height for a shank. Today I discovered that if I use the thick end of a sewing machine needle under my button with the sharp end secured into the fabric just beyond the button, I get the perfect sized shank and the needle does not move away underneath until I remove it. This method worked very well on my knit twinset.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Great tip Debe. The toothpick is devilish for me too, plus the needles are right there when you need them.
9/13/04 2:14 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This is a good tip for a small shank...trying to get a toothpick to stay UNDERNEATH your button would be very nerve racking. If you need an extra long shank for a thick winter coat, use a little piece of 1/8" or 3/16" dowel on TOP of the button and sew over it.
9/14/04 7:39 AM
Sew it seams said...
LOL!! Sewverytall, maybe *that's* why I have so much trouble!!! Thank you for *your* tip! I can't tell you how long I have been struggling with the toothpick *underneath* the button! As you can imagine, I am a "visual" learner, and a slow one at that!
9/14/04 12:08 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Debe, you're welcome...glad I could help :)
9/15/04 4:10 AM
Mary Ellen said...
I, too always thought the toothpick should go under the button (for several years in fact) and just now figured this out reading your tip - Thank You!
9/15/04 3:21 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
You can also place the toothpick/match/dowel/needle on the facing side of the fabric, depending on the shape of the button.
9/16/04 5:53 AM
MarieWsewpro said...
I'm sure this would work, but I don't think I'd like the button rocking back and forth as I sewed. It seems easier to hold the button flat on the fabric with the toothpick on top. This way you can even sew it on by machine [feed dogs down, zero stitch length, set zigzag width and try the first two stitches by hand turning the wheel, adjusting zigzag width to fit the holes]. The presser foot holds the button, you just have to hold the toothpick in place.
9/16/04 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.