SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fabric covered box & lid

Viewed 5265 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/16/04 5:15 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
I saw this question on the message boards, but my computer wouldn't let me reply to it [for Melissa in NY].

I have covered boxes with regular fabric, using spray-on glue. You'll want to do this outside because of the fumes. Spray each section of the box [not the fabric], and smooth the fabric over it, then go on to the next section. A thin but tightly woven fabric works best, so that your lid will still fit onto the bottom of the box.

If you want to protect the fabric, after the glue is completely dry, you could spray it with Scotchgard®. This won't add any extra thickness, so again, the lid will still fit. Personally, I just vacuum my fabric covered boxes with the brush attachment.

This is an amazingly fast and easy project since spray-on glue was invented.

Another tip...be sure to read the directions on the glue can. Mine says to hold the can upsidedown when you're done, spraying for a few seconds to clear the nozzle, just like spray paint.

Have fun...and beware, lol, this is addictive. You can get as creative as you want, adding ribbons, fabric paint, appliqués, a fabric handle on top, etc.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Great tip. Where do you get the boxes?
9/16/04 4:24 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you! I may want to do this in my classrooom, so it does not look so messy.
9/16/04 7:27 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Deepika, any craft stores will carry the chip boxes or you can use shoes boxes or paper mache boxes.
9/16/04 11:30 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks :) I usually make my own boxes, so I get the exact size that I want. I cut up big corrugated cardboard boxes, or use posterboard...whatever fits the need. Quilting rulers are great tools for measuring, squaring, and scoring to make these. When I get something new that is protected by a big box, I see 'free material', and save it. Like on a big refrigerator box, I would cut the 4 sides out of it, for easy storage. If you can make clothing, making a box is a breeze.
9/17/04 8:36 AM
SewVeryTall said...
p.s. sometimes I pad the top of the lid with quilt batting, it gives a nice feel and look to the fabric.
9/17/04 9:05 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
sewverytall, thats what i did for some of my hats. i made my own box , because i couldnt find one big enough to crush my hats. got alot of them. i just used some wall paper to cover them. maybe one day when i get my camera back i'll show some of my victorian boxes i made. i use the batting too on the top and sides if im using material to cover it with. just makes it look nicer. or i'll tuft it too.
9/18/04 8:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.