SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > large prints on small bodies

Viewed 5142 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/19/04 7:27 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I think the usual rule of thumb is to use simple lines for large prints. However, as a very small person I don't find this works well for me. When I use large prints I use patterns that have many pieces. That way I can "edit" the the fabric. You need much more fabric that is usually called for and you have to lay the pieces out on a simgle layer of fabric, right side up. I then can tell what part of the pattern will hit where. I can also usually completely eliminate parts of the fabric I don't like. Despite being tiny I have been able to successfully use large prints this way.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
It'd be interesting to see an example of this...a finished garment beside a piece of its fabric.
9/20/04 6:56 AM
drsue said...
Unfortunately I dont' have any of this fabric left. the above fabric had very widely spaced flowers. Some flowers I like better than others. The top has princess lines so there are 4 pieces on the front and the back.
9/21/04 10:02 AM
Hilary said...
Great tip! As a fellow shortie I will have to try this :oP The top in the photo looks very becoming!
9/26/04 2:38 PM
2smiley said...
Gosh, I have so many large prints in my stash. I use them for chenniel. Plan to use your hint for a new top. Thanks
10/3/04 0:10 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great tip! Thanks.
2/21/05 11:51 AM
Silver said...
drsue, that's a very helpful tip. I'm small also and I definitly will use your "editing" method of handling large prints. BTW, I love the skirt in your illustration. What pattern is it?
4/1/05 4:50 AM
Allisonsews said...
Sue, this is so helpful -- I plan to use this when making plus size items.
5/28/05 10:02 AM
AnneM said...
Brilliant.
3/28/07 9:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.