SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > large prints on small bodies

Viewed 5187 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/19/04 7:27 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I think the usual rule of thumb is to use simple lines for large prints. However, as a very small person I don't find this works well for me. When I use large prints I use patterns that have many pieces. That way I can "edit" the the fabric. You need much more fabric that is usually called for and you have to lay the pieces out on a simgle layer of fabric, right side up. I then can tell what part of the pattern will hit where. I can also usually completely eliminate parts of the fabric I don't like. Despite being tiny I have been able to successfully use large prints this way.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Brilliant.
3/28/07 9:17 AM
Allisonsews said...
Sue, this is so helpful -- I plan to use this when making plus size items.
5/28/05 10:02 AM
Silver said...
drsue, that's a very helpful tip. I'm small also and I definitly will use your "editing" method of handling large prints. BTW, I love the skirt in your illustration. What pattern is it?
4/1/05 4:50 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great tip! Thanks.
2/21/05 11:51 AM
2smiley said...
Gosh, I have so many large prints in my stash. I use them for chenniel. Plan to use your hint for a new top. Thanks
10/3/04 0:10 AM
Hilary said...
Great tip! As a fellow shortie I will have to try this :oP The top in the photo looks very becoming!
9/26/04 2:38 PM
drsue said...
Unfortunately I dont' have any of this fabric left. the above fabric had very widely spaced flowers. Some flowers I like better than others. The top has princess lines so there are 4 pieces on the front and the back.
9/21/04 10:02 AM
SewVeryTall said...
It'd be interesting to see an example of this...a finished garment beside a piece of its fabric.
9/20/04 6:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.