SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Hiding a protruding stomach

Viewed 5314 times
Posted by: Virginia
photo

 
 
About Virginia
CA USA
Member since: 9/23/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/26/04 2:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Two great skirt patterns I have hide a protruding stomach. One is the half circle shape. It an old Simplicity dress pattern #9894. Check your old patterns.
But the current one is McCalls #4167. The way they hang, and the A-line helps hide the stomach. At 61 yrs I'm putting on weight.
I'm making a dressy outfit for a wedding, Vogue V7822 but I using the McCalls skirt pattern to go with it. I found a teal green Georgette material and I'm using the wrong side so it won't be too dressy for other occasions.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Loreli said...
Thanks for this tip Virginia! I am always looking for ways to hide my protruding stomach. Your outfit sounds great.
9/27/04 2:17 AM
Barbara J said...
Thanks Virginia, any tummy hiding pattern is of interest to me. I love teal green.
9/27/04 3:49 AM
DonnaMeeks said...
I must try this skirt! Thanks for sharing the info.
9/27/04 5:24 PM
BillieJean said...
More info on the circle shape would be help- ful.
10/2/04 9:43 AM
2smiley said...
Virginia, Love your hint. So many of us develop the hide the tummy syndrome. Been trying to hide mine for years. Any more good tummy hiding tips?
10/3/04 0:06 AM
mapatterson said...
Thank you. I got a belly for my 40th birthday and have been trying to hide it ever since. Your suggestion should go a long way in helping me do just that.
10/10/04 3:25 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I've had a belly all my life, even when I was very young and thin--I didn't have to age to get it! :P I agree, a-lines are great. And for dresses, empire waist styles are my favorite.
10/12/04 10:28 AM
Deady said...
Where can one find this McCall's pattern #4167 please??
1/1/05 4:28 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Deady...I just checked the McCall's online site and 4167 didn't show up. It must be out of print now.
1/4/05 3:42 AM
Jayme girl said...
Ifound when cutting a skirt I leave all seams as is But in the center front I round it out about 3/4 inch higher It helps from the skirt pulling up at the bottom
3/16/05 8:54 AM
Virginia said...
I suggest you go to a thrift store and look for an older half circle or 1/3 circle type skirt pattern if you cannot find it. When I cut out the vintage pattern I saw that the fullness of the skirt hid my stomach. When I took the Fashion Apparel Class at our college she showed slimming lines: The "T" line, the Hour Glass, and the Column. I Lightly pad my shoulders to make the waist appear smaller, and flair the skirt. It works! I wear blouses outside like the weskit type or Princess cut. Hope this helps. Virginia
3/19/05 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.