SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Hiding a protruding stomach

Viewed 5356 times
Posted by: Virginia
photo

 
 
About Virginia
CA USA
Member since: 9/23/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/26/04 2:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Two great skirt patterns I have hide a protruding stomach. One is the half circle shape. It an old Simplicity dress pattern #9894. Check your old patterns.
But the current one is McCalls #4167. The way they hang, and the A-line helps hide the stomach. At 61 yrs I'm putting on weight.
I'm making a dressy outfit for a wedding, Vogue V7822 but I using the McCalls skirt pattern to go with it. I found a teal green Georgette material and I'm using the wrong side so it won't be too dressy for other occasions.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Virginia said...
I suggest you go to a thrift store and look for an older half circle or 1/3 circle type skirt pattern if you cannot find it. When I cut out the vintage pattern I saw that the fullness of the skirt hid my stomach. When I took the Fashion Apparel Class at our college she showed slimming lines: The "T" line, the Hour Glass, and the Column. I Lightly pad my shoulders to make the waist appear smaller, and flair the skirt. It works! I wear blouses outside like the weskit type or Princess cut. Hope this helps. Virginia
3/19/05 10:53 AM
Jayme girl said...
Ifound when cutting a skirt I leave all seams as is But in the center front I round it out about 3/4 inch higher It helps from the skirt pulling up at the bottom
3/16/05 8:54 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Deady...I just checked the McCall's online site and 4167 didn't show up. It must be out of print now.
1/4/05 3:42 AM
Deady said...
Where can one find this McCall's pattern #4167 please??
1/1/05 4:28 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I've had a belly all my life, even when I was very young and thin--I didn't have to age to get it! :P I agree, a-lines are great. And for dresses, empire waist styles are my favorite.
10/12/04 10:28 AM
mapatterson said...
Thank you. I got a belly for my 40th birthday and have been trying to hide it ever since. Your suggestion should go a long way in helping me do just that.
10/10/04 3:25 PM
2smiley said...
Virginia, Love your hint. So many of us develop the hide the tummy syndrome. Been trying to hide mine for years. Any more good tummy hiding tips?
10/3/04 0:06 AM
BillieJean said...
More info on the circle shape would be help- ful.
10/2/04 9:43 AM
DonnaMeeks said...
I must try this skirt! Thanks for sharing the info.
9/27/04 5:24 PM
Barbara J said...
Thanks Virginia, any tummy hiding pattern is of interest to me. I love teal green.
9/27/04 3:49 AM
Loreli said...
Thanks for this tip Virginia! I am always looking for ways to hide my protruding stomach. Your outfit sounds great.
9/27/04 2:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.