SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > How to know which patterns are discontinued!

Viewed 5171 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/3/04 5:16 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
An easy way to discover which patterns are going to be discontinued is too look in the pattern drawer. The little dividers which have the pattern numbers have another side to them, in a different color. For instance, if you open a Vogue drawer and some of the dividers are PINK....those patterns will not be in the next book.

When patterns are 99cents, I often pull up a chair to the drawer (when it's not super busy at the store OF COURSE!) and just look to see which patterns are going to be discontinued. Every so often a pattern I consider to be a forever classic is going to be discarded and I may buy one in every size, expecially if I have made it before and been pleased with it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lynne10 said...
brilliant!!!!
10/20/04 11:18 PM
Janie Viers said...
You know, I don't know! I think it's true for all the patterns that are in drawers at the Joann ETCs where I shop. I would think that it would be the logical way to track future discards, but, then again, logic doesn't always figure into the running of business related to the sewing arts! I am always amazed at the patterns that they discard that are "on the cusp" of future fashion.
10/11/04 6:10 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Neat, I'll have to check that next time. Is it just for the Big 4 patterns?
10/10/04 4:11 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Also, once a pattern moves to a half- or quarter-page that means it's on its way out. However, you don't always get that warning with every pattern. When I worked in a fabric shop we didn't bother turning the cards. We just dealt with the discards once the new book came out.
10/5/04 5:51 PM
Jan B. said...
Wow! Great tip!
10/5/04 9:38 AM
Juliet said...
Janie, this would only be useful where you can gain access to the pattern drawers - here in the UK they are "sealed" away behind a big counter! Also the best pattern deals we get are half price (once per year). Thanks anyway sometimes you can see the assistant looking for your pattern.
10/5/04 3:56 AM
Diana M said...
What a great tip -- thanks so much! Just in case I need more patterns . . .
10/3/04 11:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.