SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > low bobbin thread indicator for your sewing machine

Viewed 5281 times
Posted by: Chainsaw Mouth
photo

 
 
About Chainsaw Mouth
WA USA
Member since: 9/24/04
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/9/04 4:07 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Here's a tip I learned from my Janome dealer, who learned it from one of her customers. I've never tried it myself but I thought the idea should be passed around... If you really need to know just how much thread is left in your bobbin while sewing, wind up another bobbin with thread of choice and sew with that bobbin as your top thread instead. No more guessing games. Just check your bobbin on the spool to see how much bobbin thread you have left. I hope this makes sense...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Excellent tip. This would really be helpful when satin stitching fabric bowls, or doing a lot of topstitching.
10/9/04 6:15 AM
Deepika said...
I dont get it. If I am using bobbin in top and in the bottom, what difference does it make?
10/9/04 7:39 AM
mapatterson said...
Sew Too Tall: Thank you for your kind comments. I’ll try to answer your question to the best of my knowledge because I’ve yet to use the little beastie. The tape pressure foot is for applying reinforcing tape at shoulder seams or anyplace else you want to reinforce a seam because you don’t want it to stretch or have give. (I’ve always called it “stay tape,” but I have heard it called “twill tape” too.) You don’t really need the special foot—the instructions given for applying reinforcing tape in the manual are for the all purpose foot—but it looks like a handy little gadget. It has a sort of channel in the front that allows you to feed in the narrow tape as you sew the seam, so your stay tape application is straight, lined up with the seam edge and somewhat encased in the stitches. The foot looks handy but would work only for narrow tape, less than ¼ of an inch wide. I know in the past I’ve had trouble keeping stay tape and the seam edges matched and will try the foot out the next time I make something stretchy. (I usually “pin” my serging projects together with a glue stick to keep such things lined up, so this little foot should save time and the cost of glue sticks.) P.S. You probably know more about sergers than I do. Like my car, I just drive the thing; I couldn’t tell you how it works or what’s under the hood.) Heh heh.
10/9/04 1:23 PM
mapatterson said...
Good grief! Please disregard my above comment. Somehow I posted it in the wrong review. I apologize for any confusion.
10/9/04 1:26 PM
Annam said...
Thanks, that's a great tip. Maybe not for everyday sewing but there are times when it's a disaster if you run out of bobbin thread.
10/9/04 4:30 PM
Kris32 said...
Great idea! Deepika, I think what she means is if you wind two bobbins and use one of them in the place of your regular bought spool of thread you can check the amount of thread left in both bobbins just by looking at the top bobbin. If you are doing regular one needle sewing you should use up the thread in both bobbins at the same rate.
10/9/04 4:33 PM
mapatterson said...
Nifty idea! I'll try it on my next project.
10/9/04 8:04 PM
LSBCATS3 said...
Good idea! Thanks for suggesting it.
10/10/04 1:05 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Hummm, one would think the thread gets used up at the same rate, but I'm really wondering. If you take white thread, and put a black magic marker blob on it and watch as you sew, you will see that that spot goes up and down and up and down and even into the fabric and back out. - 20 times or so! I know that is not the action of the bobbin thread - so I'm suspecting the bobbin thread would run out sooner. Just an early Sunday morning opinion though.......... :)
10/10/04 5:48 AM
D1Diva said...
This should work on a straight stitch if your tension is adjusted correctly. The same amount of thread should then be on the top as well as the bottom. Good idea for projects where not running out of bobbin thread would be crucial like SewVeryTall suggests.
10/10/04 9:43 AM
D1Diva said...
Clarification: The same amount of thread should be on top OF THE SEAM as well as the bottom. Sorry I left that out.
10/10/04 9:46 AM
Mini said...
This would be a good idea when sewing decorative stitches or topstitching. I hate having to start a new spool of thread before reaching the end of a seam. Maybe the top and bottom threads don't get used at the exact same ratio, but it should be close enough for practical purposes.
10/10/04 10:09 AM
Deepika said...
Kris, thanks for explaining, I get it now :)
10/10/04 11:15 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I wish I understood Londa's comment. But here's an experiment to prove this theory [and see if the tensions are set correctly]...sew a few inches on a scrap of fabric [long stitches], trim the threads at the beginning and ending of your stitching, then take the stitching out and see if the two threads are the same length.
10/11/04 4:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This tip is especially great for sewing buttonholes. Just the other day I was sewing buttonholes and, much to my dismay, I was halfway through one buttonhole and my bobbin thread ran out. OH My Gosh. There is no way that I know of to get out of that - so - I ripped out the half buttonhold that I sewed, put in a new bobbin of thread, and started that buttonhole over again. It really would be much easier to see this using a bobbon on top and bottom.
10/11/04 2:52 PM
bkool said...
Good idea, but you have to wind two bobbins for every one bobbin you use below the needle plate, so you're right: it's for when you REALLY need to know how much thread is left below.
10/11/04 9:49 PM
Chainsaw Mouth said...
I'm very sorry! I failed to add that you have to wind both bobbins with the same amount of thread--so you have to let your machine stop winding automatically. After reading all your comments, I can see where I can run into problems. But I think for straight stitch free-motion and sewing on buttonholes, this technique might actually save me from frustrations. I'm not so sure about using a heavier thread for the top bobbin... I think you would use more top thread than you would use bottom thread when doing satin stitching, since more of the top thread gets pulled towards the bottom.
10/15/04 4:31 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Hi, Great idea! But just a question - doesn't thread have a twist sense to it? I know that when hand quilting I am very careful to keep the lead end at the needle eye to avoid snarls. Yet when you wind a bobbin that lead is reversed. Regular machine sewing thus pairs the threads in a stitch with their twists in opposite sense; sewing from two bobbins will have the twists in the same sense. Would this make any difference that anyone has noticed?
10/19/04 1:36 PM
SewVeryTall said...
so-so-sewer...interesting point. I think the twist of the thread is important when hand sewing, due to lack of constant tension on the thread. In the machine, the tension wouldn't allow it to tangle. I have used bobbins as my machine's top thread before, with no problems.
I agree totally about hand sewing...if I use thread from a bobbin, I put the fresh cut into the needle first and knot that end.
10/20/04 6:34 AM
sheone said...
It makes a lot of sense. It's an excellent idea.
2/3/06 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.