SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Tracing Tip

Viewed 5241 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/13/04 10:05 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was about to toss a torn, clear-plastic shower curtain liner, when it occurred to me to try to use it to trace out those complicated Burda WOF and Ottobre Design patterns. I first washed it to get rid of the soap scum.

It worked very well. I used a fine point sharpie pen to trace. You just have to be careful when tracing, because the plastic will stretch if you press too hard with the pen, and the tracing will become distorted. Apart from that I had no problems and for the first time, my blood pressure didn't increase dramatically while trying to trace out an Ottobre Design pattern.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Gr8Seamstress said...
I love it! what a super idea! I use paper towels because you can see through as you trace and they fold up nicely to put away. I store all my patterns in ziploc bags so pieces dont get lost.
10/30/04 9:43 PM
SandraB said...
ba, I hadn't thought about using weights. I just hold down the plastic with my free hand.
10/20/04 8:53 AM
reunaroundsue said...
I bought the 3 mil plastic and sharpie pens and what a great idea I received for your reviews. Thank You, It is better than the pattern tracing material I purchased at the sewing store. What do you use as weights to hold the plastic smooth over the pattern? Thanks Barb
10/18/04 8:39 AM
clematis said...
What a great idea. Thanks. Lynne
10/17/04 7:00 PM
bevaau said...
I have used a vinyl film for tracing patterns for years. I get it from the hardware store and use it for all my Burda, Kwik-Sew and Top Kids patterns. The vinyl pieces are easy to mark with a permanent marker, just about indestructible and do not crease easily. I can't tell you the "weight" of the vinyl I use as the young man in the hardware store was a bit bemused when I mentioned sewing patterns and couldn't really tell me!! I never thought of shower curtain lining!! Great recycling idea.
10/15/04 4:43 PM
PattiK said...
Great idea!
10/13/04 9:32 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Very unusual, yet creatively recycleable idea!
10/13/04 2:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.