SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bobbin keepers home-made

Viewed 5881 times
Posted by: Astrostitcher
photo

 
 
About Astrostitcher
NA FRANCE
Member since: 5/14/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/22/04 3:59 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
You can keep your bobbins from losing their thread by clipping on a soft plastic bobbin keeper. There are expensive commercially and I never seem to have enough so I bought a length of plastic aquarium tubing ( 15mm or about 5/8ths" outer diameter) and cut off little rings. Then opened these up on one side, slip around the thread and voila! I actually like these better as they are softer as well as cheaper and don't crush the thread on fuller bobbins.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
vald said...
Fantastic idea!!
5/3/10 8:21 PM
Janette Blesing said...
Great tip, Thanks
8/31/08 9:12 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Thank you Alice for your nice words! Don't you just love a little home-made gadget that works like a charm ? Happy sewing!
5/16/05 3:12 PM
Alice said...
When I saw this hint I yelled, BINGO!!Better than sliced bread! I went to Home Depot but they only sold tubing in 10' pieces, Lowes will sell what you need. This is something I've always looked for. a different version, like a button, which was inserted into the hole was sold commercially years ago, now I can make my own, it's great, even better than the old version which must have been a bust since it's no longer made.
5/15/05 12:11 PM
OKgirl said...
going to Wal-Mart to get some tubing!
2/15/05 5:11 PM
bkool said...
Virginia and so-so sewer, My mother used to use empty toilet paper tubes to hold machine cords. You could cut down gift wrap tubes, if that has more appeal.-Beth
12/6/04 8:03 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Hi Virginia, I don't know what type of size or holder such cords come on but you can probably find something in the kitchen or garage you can adapt using the same principle. It just has to squeeze gently around what you want to hold in. Like for serger thread cones I was thinking of trying plastic (clear) cups with the botton cut off and a cut down one side. Should work with some tweaking.
11/5/04 1:31 AM
Virginia said...
Do they have any larger for our sewing machine cords?
11/4/04 11:16 AM
Hilary said...
great idea, who knew the fish store my boys love would also yield sewing notions :D they'll be thrilled for me-LOL! Thanks for the great tip!
10/31/04 6:55 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Wow - so simple and inexpensive. I don't have any tubing lying around, but I have to go to the pet store today. Glad I read this before I went!
10/31/04 6:54 AM
KitnRose said...
What a great idea!
10/29/04 10:26 AM
LiZ said...
I seen the price of the commercial ones and made myself some of these some years ago as I can't stand untidy threads.
10/23/04 10:26 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
great, great tip ! thanks
10/23/04 4:24 PM
Norma Hyman said...
WOW! And I have all kinds of aquarium tubing lying around in my way -- why can't I think of these ingenious ideas??
10/23/04 10:04 AM
candyo said...
Cool! Gotta try it!
10/23/04 0:44 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a Great Idea!!!!!!!! Thanks for the review - we all need this one.
10/22/04 1:30 PM
cindyann said...
Great idea! Those loose threads drive me nuts.
10/22/04 8:18 AM
Sew it seams said...
That sounds like a great idea.
10/22/04 7:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.