Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
bobbin keepers home-made (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5454 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Posted by: Astrostitcher
photo
About Astrostitcher
NA FRANCE
Member since: 5/14/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/22/04 3:59 AM
Featured in the PR book!
You can keep your bobbins from losing their thread by clipping on a soft plastic bobbin keeper. There are expensive commercially and I never seem to have enough so I bought a length of plastic aquarium tubing ( 15mm or about 5/8ths" outer diameter) and cut off little rings. Then opened these up on one side, slip around the thread and voila! I actually like these better as they are softer as well as cheaper and don't crush the thread on fuller bobbins.
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew it seams said...
That sounds like a great idea.
10/22/04 7:43 AM
cindyann said...
Great idea! Those loose threads drive me nuts.
10/22/04 8:18 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a Great Idea!!!!!!!! Thanks for the review - we all need this one.
10/22/04 1:30 PM
candyo said...
Cool! Gotta try it!
10/23/04 0:44 AM
Norma Hyman said...
WOW! And I have all kinds of aquarium tubing lying around in my way -- why can't I think of these ingenious ideas??
10/23/04 10:04 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
great, great tip ! thanks
10/23/04 4:24 PM
LiZ said...
I seen the price of the commercial ones and made myself some of these some years ago as I can't stand untidy threads.
10/23/04 10:26 PM
KitnRose said...
What a great idea!
10/29/04 10:26 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Wow - so simple and inexpensive. I don't have any tubing lying around, but I have to go to the pet store today. Glad I read this before I went!
10/31/04 6:54 AM
Hilary said...
great idea, who knew the fish store my boys love would also yield sewing notions :D they'll be thrilled for me-LOL! Thanks for the great tip!
10/31/04 6:55 AM
Virginia said...
Do they have any larger for our sewing machine cords?
11/4/04 11:16 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Hi Virginia, I don't know what type of size or holder such cords come on but you can probably find something in the kitchen or garage you can adapt using the same principle. It just has to squeeze gently around what you want to hold in. Like for serger thread cones I was thinking of trying plastic (clear) cups with the botton cut off and a cut down one side. Should work with some tweaking.
11/5/04 1:31 AM
bkool said...
Virginia and so-so sewer, My mother used to use empty toilet paper tubes to hold machine cords. You could cut down gift wrap tubes, if that has more appeal.-Beth
12/6/04 8:03 PM
OKgirl said...
going to Wal-Mart to get some tubing!
2/15/05 5:11 PM
Alice said...
When I saw this hint I yelled, BINGO!!Better than sliced bread! I went to Home Depot but they only sold tubing in 10' pieces, Lowes will sell what you need. This is something I've always looked for. a different version, like a button, which was inserted into the hole was sold commercially years ago, now I can make my own, it's great, even better than the old version which must have been a bust since it's no longer made.
5/15/05 12:11 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Thank you Alice for your nice words! Don't you just love a little home-made gadget that works like a charm ? Happy sewing!
5/16/05 3:12 PM
Janette Blesing said...
Great tip, Thanks
8/31/08 9:12 PM
vald said...
Fantastic idea!!
5/3/10 8:21 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us