SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Leave a thread tail for handsewing

Viewed 5261 times
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/26/04 11:25 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
I know - the thought of hand sewing makes some of us run screaming from the room! But Iím one of those masochists who actually enjoys it. Lately this has come in handy while Iíve been making DD dolls clothes for the holidays.

This is especially useful because you can just thread a needle from the thread tail, and there is no knot to bury.

Last night I was hand sewing a bias collar binding on a doll dress that had a Peter Pan collar. The layers were: dress-collar-binding. After sewing the three layers together on the machine I used the thread tail from the machine stitching to hand sew the bottom edge of the binding to the inside neckline of the dress (using bias binding instead of a facing is a common way to finish a Peter Pan collar)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
You rethread the tail into your needle to do a backstitch?
10/27/04 6:20 AM
PhyllisC said...
Somewhat - on that particular neck binding it was a fell stitch. I had to attach the lower edge of the bias binding to the inside of the neckline (it was a peter pan collar.) It was so tiny there was now way I'd ever be able to fit it under the presser foot, so hand stitching it was the way to go.
10/27/04 8:50 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Since you mentioned there was no knot to bury, I figured you backstitched instead to secure your thread end[s].
I can imagine that this would be a way to have twice the length of thread to use comfortably [hand quilters do this], but you haven't explained how you used the 'tail'.
10/28/04 5:28 AM
PhyllisC said...
Oh - now I get it - I'm awfully sorry - I didn't understand the question! No - I don't usually backstitch, rather I just make the stitch length really tiny and go right off the edge. The tiny stitch length locks the end of the thread.
10/28/04 9:01 AM
Jan B. said...
You still haven't explained how you use the tail.
10/28/04 9:56 AM
PhyllisC said...
*sigh* - ok I revised the review, but I can't imagine what's not making sense.
10/28/04 3:42 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Now I get it...considering you "can't imagine" what didn't make sense, you sure revised the right part, lol. I didn't realize you'd sewn it by machine first, then used those thread tails to just tack down the bias facing...it read like you'd sewn the whole neckline/collar/facing by hand.
10/29/04 6:23 AM
Jan B. said...
I used the thread tail "FROM THE MACHINE STITCHING," made all the difference in the world! If that phrase was there, I didn't read it! Now it makes perfect sense and I'll give it a try. Thank you
10/29/04 6:43 PM
Shinobu said...
I do this for my doll clothes, too. It also helps when I have to take the small finish-up parts on the road since I won't have to take the whole spool with me, and if I've got it long enough, not even scissors. I mostly use the tails to sew in snaps. Velcro gets tangled in long doll hair so easily ! And the clamp-on snaps are a PITA ! Nice to know someone else does the same thing.
11/28/04 7:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.