SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Another cheap pattern tracing idea

Viewed 5276 times
Posted by: Tessa
photo

 
 
About Tessa star
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/7/02 2:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I use rolls of polyethylene (clear plastic) from a hardware store or building supply store. This is sold in three weights. The lightest is the cheapest, but I find the medium weight easier to handle. The plastic is about 100 inches wide, folded in half on the roll, I'm not sure how long. A roll costs less than $10. To copy a pattern I use weights to keep the palstic in place and an overhead projector marker to trace and add comments such as the date, elastic length, who it was made for, how much I lengthened etc. I prefer Staedler Lumocolor permanent pens, but these can be hard to find. I have found it best to use black, as blue and red seem to fade. The plastic pattern pieces are easy to fold, and the roll is easy to store. I don't pin them, but use weights for cutting out as well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Charcoal said...
Interest that my sewing instructor also uses the clear plastic to make knock-off patterns from completed garments/items (she also works in the garment industry in Los Angeles).
7/4/06 6:18 AM
Charcoal said...
Interest that my sewing instructor also uses the clear plastic to may knock-off patterns from completed garments/items (she also works in the garment industry in Los Angeles).
7/4/06 6:17 AM
Tessa said...
I haven't tried the smooth wheel. It sounds like a good idea. Lately I have been using the serrated wheel (because I have one), and while it does make little holes in the plastic, it doesn't seem to wreck the pattern.
10/1/05 11:06 AM
audsews said...
at the notions wall, there is a smooth-edged wheel. this doesn't mess up your patterns, so i guess it wouldn't damage the plastic
9/30/05 11:05 AM
Tessa said...
I use pins at the ends of markings, then connect them with a marking pencil. A pattern wheel might tear the plastic.
3/13/03 6:15 PM
Sarah Wheelock said...
Hmm, that is a good idea. How do you transfer things like folding lines and interior darts?I usually use my little pattern wheel and some carbon paper-like stuff, but it seems like that might mess up the plastic.
12/11/02 8:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.